Birthday Reflections on “these four score years and two”

June, the midpoint of the year,  is a special month, indeed. As the lyrics remind us, “June is bustin’ out all over. . .” with graduations, weddings, and numerous other occasions to celebrate new beginnings.  The first Sunday in June, National Cancer Survivors Day, is especially significant for me as a 24-year prostate cancer survivor who rejoices as more than a conqueror. My birthday is June 17, and it often coincides with Father’s Day, the third Sunday in the month. These two special days provide more opportunities to express my gratitude to God.

Each year since my 40th birthday, as I reflect with deepest gratitude, I have been inspired to express my thoughts poetically with a crafted piece from the heart of a “self-appointed poet laureate,” who is always looking for an occasion to celebrate. Rejoice with me on this special occasion:

Knowing the Best is Yet to Come

 In celebration of my 82nd birthday

June 17, 2024

Finishing is better than starting.

Patience is better than pride.

Ecclesiastes 7:8 (New Living Translation)

Abba Father, you bless and refresh and make all things brand-new.

Looking behind,  I find you were there all along the way.

Goodness and mercy have followed me these four score years and two.

I will bless the Lord and give you praise in all I do and say.

In each golden moment of favor here in the present tense,

I express my gratitude as I rejoice and celebrate.

While I savor yet another chance to bask in your presence,

You comfort and renew my strength as I learn to watch and wait.

As a son and a faithful bondslave, who continues to seek,

Here I stand with open eyes and ears near to the lips of God.

Assured you will fulfill every precious promise you speak,

Deep in my soul, you have placed this passion for the Word of God.

While still seeking to see your Kingdom come and your will be done,

I continue to trust you, knowing the best is yet to come.

June is also African American music month, as Bishop Paul S. Morton offers this stirring rendition of a song to reinforce my birthday message: “The Best is Yet to Come”:

Tags: , , , , , , , ,

4 Responses to “Birthday Reflections on “these four score years and two””

  1. Brenda Joyce Johnson Says:

    Happy Happy birthday to the love of my life! You are deserving of the prize. Continue to enjoy!

    Love you BJ

  2. clt3716 Says:

    How awesome!!! You are such a blessing to the family and the world!!! You are right, the best is yet to come!!!

  3. clt3716 Says:

    You make 82 look good!

Leave a comment