At all times: Praise God

colossians-3-17

On the day after Thanksgiving, as our souls overflow with gratitude to God for all He continues to do on our behalf, we read the Verse of the Day for November 25, 2016:

Colossians 3:17 (NKJV)

And whatever you do in word or deed, do all in the name of the Lord Jesus, giving thanks to God the Father through Him.

The Amplified Bible puts it this way:

Whatever you do [no matter what it is] in word or deed, do everything in the name of the Lord Jesus [and in dependence on Him], giving thanks to God the Father through Him.

Regarding everything that we do as believers, similar sentiments are expressed in Colossians 3:23-24:

23 And whatever you do, do it heartily, as to the Lord and not to men, 24 knowing that from the Lord you will receive the reward of the inheritance; for you serve the Lord Christ.

The Psalmist also encourages believers to ever be diligent in praising God:

Psalm 86:12

I will praise You, O Lord my God, with all my heart, and I will glorify Your name forevermore.

Psalm 34:1

I will bless the Lord at all times; His praise shall continually be in my mouth.

Every situation offers an opportunity to be thankful, no matter how bright or bleak life may be. We can always find something to be thankful for, if for nothing more than that we are alive or that our situation could be worse. We can begin with thanking God that we are alive and then adding to the long list of blessings we are enjoying at that moment. Each time we set our minds to be thankful, we are doing the will of God, which is the innermost desire of every believer. To give thanks is to do the will of God.

I recall this “all-occasion” poetic exhortation regarding the situations encounter:

In happy moments, praise God.
In difficult moments, seek God.
In quiet moments, worship God.
In painful moments, trust God.
In every moment, thank God.

At All Times

I will bless the Lord at all times,
His praise shall continually be in my mouth.

Psalm 34:1

When I see God’s goodness and mercy follow me,
As I savor the ecstasy of victory,
When joy overflows and floods my soul, I will praise God.

When gripped by the devices of this transient life
And caught in the straits of rising conflict and strife,
During these difficult moments, I will seek God.

When I long to abide within a tranquil mood
And linger in moments of sweetest quietude,
From the depths of my soul, I will worship God.

Despite raging seas, stormy winds and blinding rain,
When protracted pain strikes like a knife and numbs my brain
So that I can scarcely scream your name, I will trust God.

All along life’s journey, no matter the season,
Through every why and wherefore, for every reason
Every moment I draw breath, I will thank God.
I seek the Lord and ask myself, “What shall I do?”
“Give thanks: it is God’s will in Christ concerning you.”
“Give thanks: it is God’s will in Christ concerning you.”

One of the above verses from Psalm 86:12 is set to music in this Scripture Memory Song:

Tags: , , , ,

Leave a Reply

