I hurry to keep your commandments

 

In Psalm 119:60 in the Amplified Bible we find the Verse of the Day for July 25, 2017:

I hurried and did not delay to keep Your commandments.

This is how the King James Version puts it:

I made haste, and delayed not to keep thy commandments.

Here are additional renderings of the verse that describes how the Psalmist responds to the Word of God:

Psalm 119:60 (Common English Bible–CEB) :

I hurry to keep your commandments—
I never put it off!

Psalm 119:60 (Complete Jewish Bible–CJB) :

I hurry, I don’t delay,
to observe your mitzvot.

Psalm 119:60 (Contemporary English Version–CEV) :

As soon as you command,
I do what you say.

Psalm 119:60 (Easy to Read Version-ERV) :

Without wasting any time,
I hurried back to obey your commands.

The verse also brings to mind the exhortation from James: “Be swift to hear, slow to speak, slow to wrath.”

The various versions all express this important truth: As the Poet says, “We place our ears near to the lips of God,” and when He speaks, we learn to swiftly obey. We do not wait, but we must learn to respond immediately, as one of the stanzas from “The Servant’s Song: My Eyes Are Only on You” reminds us:

My eyes are only on you.
My eyes are only on you.
All that you tell me that I will do.
I offer my life; I give it to you,
For my eyes are only on you.

As the eyes of a servant look to the hands of His Lord,
As the ears of a servant know so well his master’s voice,
So my mind stays focused to watch and learn how you move.
Create in me a servant’s heart; teach me to serve in love.

My eyes are only on you.
My eyes are only on you.
All that you tell me that I will do.
I offer my life; I give it to you,
For my eyes are only on you.

As I continue to wait upon my Master and Lord,
I will quickly obey and gladly submit to His will.
I fulfill my calling as I watch and wait to see
When He bids me to the wedding feast, and He will wait on me.

My eyes are only on you.
My eyes are only on you.
All that you tell me that I will do.
I offer my life; I give it to you,
For my eyes are only on you.

Biblical scholar EW Bullinger notes that Psalm 119 is an acrostic psalm of 22 sections of eight verses each with each section starting with one of the 22 consecutive letters of the Hebrew alphabet. Take a look at the psalm and note that the first eight verses are labeled under Aleph, verses 9-16 are labeled under Beth; the same sequence follows for all 176 verses (8 x22).
The Verse of the Day is part of the Heth section, a portion of which is set to music as a hymn sung in the following video:

Tags: , ,

Leave a Reply

