Remain and abide in His love

The Verse of the Day for July 14, 2017 brings to mind the expression “Follow the leader,” as Jesus Christ speaks to his followers:

John 15:10:

If you keep My commandments and obey My teaching, you will remain in My love, just as I have kept My Father’s commandments and remain in His love.

This particular verse is part of a familiar passage that unfolds a striking metaphor used by Jesus Christ to help his followers understand more fully who he is and how he relates to God, his Father, using this comparison:
His Father is the “vine-dresser” (grape farmer), or “husbandman”, as some translations have it, and that he, Jesus, is “the true vine”, and those apostles are “branches” who are attached to Jesus, the Vine. In order to be fruitful the branches must “abide” in the vine. When the branches remain intact with the vine, God is glorified as the branches bear much fruit, producing a spiritual harvest for God. Jesus Christ ends the comparison on a “love note” in verses 9-12:

9 I have loved you just as the Father has loved Me; remain in My love [and do not doubt My love for you].

10 If you keep My commandments and obey My teaching, you will remain in My love, just as I have kept My Father’s commandments and remain in His love.

11 I have told you these things so that My joy and delight may be in you, and that your joy may be made full and complete and overflowing.

12 “This is My commandment, that you love and unselfishly seek the best for one another, just as I have loved you.

The following photo shows a fruitful vine from a vineyard that illustrates the parable where Jesus describes himself as “the true vine.” Just as the Lord remains or abides in the love of God, so we who follow his example should demonstrate our love to one another and continually abide in His love.

The photo shows a fruitful vine from a vineyard that illustrates the parable where Jesus describes himself as “the true vine.”

Esther Mui has composed a tender musical rendering of John 15:4-5 “Abide in Me” (Esther Mui) Christian Scripture Praise Worship w Lyrics:

Tags: , , , ,

Leave a Reply

