I trust in God. What can man do?

Psalm 56--4

In the midst of the tempestuous times in which we live, when we are beset on every hand by circumstances that increase our stress levels, we receive strength and comforted by the words of the Psalmist from the Verse of the Day for May 30, 2017:

Psalm 56:4 (Message Bible):

[A David Psalm, When He Was Captured by the Philistines in Gath] Take my side, God—I’m getting kicked around, stomped on every day. Not a day goes by but somebody beats me up; they make it their duty to beat me up. When I get really afraid I come to you in trust. I’m proud to praise God; fearless now, I trust in God. What can mere mortals do?

Addition verses in the Psalms echo the same viewpoint:

Psalm 56:11 (NKJV):

In God I have put my trust; I will not be afraid. What can man do to me?

Psalm 118:6 (NKJV)

The Lord is on my side; I will not fear. What can man do to me?

The words found in the Psalms resound in Hebrews 13:5-6 where the bold declaration of what God has said precedes the closing question of the passage:

Hebrews 13:5-6 (Amplified Bible)

5Let your character or moral disposition be free from love of money [including greed, avarice, lust, and craving for earthly possessions] and be satisfied with your present [circumstances and with what you have]; for He [God] Himself has said, I will not in any way fail you nor give you up nor leave you without support. [I will] not, [I will] not, [I will] not in any degree leave you helpless nor forsake nor let [you] down (relax My hold on you)! [Assuredly not!]

6So we take comfort and are encouraged and confidently and boldly say, The Lord is my Helper; I will not be seized with alarm [I will not fear or dread or be terrified]. What can man do to me?

This passage brings to mind the lyrics to the powerful hymn of the Christian Church “How Firm a Foundation.” The last stanza reinforces the message of the passage from Hebrews which echoes the same sentiments of Psalm 56:4 in a particularly profound way:

“The soul that on Jesus hath leaned for repose
I will not, I will not, desert to his foes;
That soul, though all hell should endeavor to shake,
I’ll never, no never, no never, forsake!”

The passage from Hebrews also serves as the introduction to this poetic exhortation:

 “This We Know Is True”

Hebrews 13:5-6

 

God says, “I will never, never, never leave you.”

“All those called by My name I will never forsake.”

Despite all that befalls us, this we know is true.

 

To do His will we do whatever it may take.

The Word of God encourages us to speak boldly:

“All those called by name I will never forsake.”

 

We walk by faith beyond anything we can see.

Since God is our helper, we say, “We will not fear.”

The Word of God encourages us to speak boldly:

 

Though He may seem far away, He is always near.

We will not covet anything: We are content.

Since God is our helper, we say, “We will not fear.”

 

When fiery trials press us to the fullest extent,

We rest in the Word of God, in absolute trust.

We will not covet anything: We are content.

 

We rest in the Word of God, in absolute trust.

God says, “I will never, never, never leave you.”

We rest in the Word of God, in absolute trust.

Despite all that befalls us, this we know is true.

 

Psalm 56 is set to music by Jon Micah Sumrall

 

Tags: , , ,

One Response to “I trust in God. What can man do?”

  1. apocalypse2blog Says:

    “what can man do?” – I will answer this in my next post

Leave a Reply

