Crucified with Christ

As we move forward in the days leading up to Palm Sunday and the last week of Jesus Christ’s life on Earth, our thoughts are turning toward the crucifixion of the Savior and his ultimate resurrection. Revised and re-posted below is the following blog entry based on the Verse of the Day for April 7, 2017:

Galatians 2:20 (NLT):

My old self has been crucified with Christ. It is no longer I who live, but Christ lives in me. So I live in this earthly body by trusting in the Son of God, who loved me and gave himself for me.

The Amplified Bible renders the verse this way:

I have been crucified with Christ [that is, in Him I have shared His crucifixion]; it is no longer I who live, but Christ lives in me. The life I now live in the body I live by faith [by adhering to, relying on, and completely trusting] in the Son of God, who loved me and gave Himself up for me.

According to Logos Bible Software, Paul states “I have been crucified with Christ,” literally meaning, “I am dead.”

Philippians 1:21 in the Amplified Bible also makes known this truth:

21 For me to live is Christ [His life in me], and to die is gain [the gain of the glory of eternity].

Note what Philippians 3:10 has to say about the matter:

10 And this, so that I may know Him [experientially, becoming more thoroughly acquainted with Him, understanding the remarkable wonders of His Person more completely] and [in that same way experience] the power of His resurrection [which overflows and is active in believers], and [that I may share] the fellowship of His sufferings, by being continually conformed [inwardly into His likeness even] to His death [dying as He did];

In reflecting upon these three verses, this poem comes to mind:

I Am Dead

Likewise you also, reckon yourselves
to be dead indeed to sin, but alive to God
in Christ Jesus our Lord.
Romans 6:11 (NKJV):

I am dead: I died to my flesh and carnal lusts.
I am unmoved: the dead do not know anything.
Blessed assurance is mine, as a man who trusts
That each day I die I grow immune to death’s sting.
I am dead: I died to desires before my eyes.
The world and its trappings no longer allure me,
For it is appointed unto man once to die.
Opened eyes, once closed in death, no longer see.
I am dead: I died, even to the pride of life.
It does not matter what others may think or say.
I learn to rise above conflict, envy, and strife.
Though dead I abide in Christ, the new and living way.
As with Christ, death precedes any resurrection,
So the path I choose: True North, my new direction.

The same power that raised Jesus Christ from the dead also resides in every born-again believer. For in Christ we live, we move, and have our being. We have the privilege of demonstrating that same power that raised him from the dead, as we apply the principles of the Word of God whereby we manifest all God desires for us:

17 that Christ may dwell in your hearts through faith; that you, being rooted and grounded in love,
18 may be able to comprehend with all the saints what is the width and length and depth and height—
19 to know the love of Christ which passes knowledge; that you may be filled with all the fullness of God.
20 Now to Him who is able to do exceedingly abundantly above all that we ask or think, according to the power that works in us, (Ephesians 3:17-20).

This message of the Verse of the Day is powerfully reinforced in this stirring rendition of the song based on this verse by Phillips, Craig and Dean, “I am crucified with Christ

Tags: , , , , ,

2 Responses to “Crucified with Christ”

  1. Cassandra Says:

    With havin so much content do you ever run into any issues
    of plagorism or copyright violation? My site has a lot
    of exclusive content I’ve either created myself or outsourced but it looks like a lot of it is popping it up all over the web without my agreement.

    Do you know any solutions to help stop content from being
    ripped off? I’d certainly appreciate it. http://irlaboratoires.com/author/rogeliof99/

Leave a Reply

