Surely goodness

Psalm 33_4-5

The Verse of the Day for February 5, 2017 is found in Psalm 33:4-5 in the New Living Translation:

For the word of the Lord holds true, and we can trust everything he does. He loves whatever is just and good; the unfailing love of the Lord fills the earth.

The New King James Version put it this way:

For the word of the Lord is right,
And all His work is done in truth.
He loves righteousness and justice;
The earth is full of the goodness of the Lord.

Verse 5 speaks of the “goodness of the Lord” that fills the whole Earth, bringing to mind one of the themes for the New Year: “2017 Unlimited Goodness and Unlimited Favor.”

Without question, the goodness of God surrounds us and sustains us every day. The Psalmist reiterates this truth:

Psalm 27:13 (KJV)

I had fainted unless I had believed to see the goodness of the Lord in the land of the living.

The Holman Standard Bible boldly declares:

Psalm 31:19

How great is Your goodness that You have stored up for those who fear You and accomplished in the sight of everyone for those who take refuge in You.

God’s goodness toward us is expressed in Jesus Christ, who acknowledged that there is no one good except the Father. The very essence of God is goodness which believers personalize when we proclaim:

Oh, my goodness,

Oh, my gracious,

Oh, my goodness, gracious Lord.

Romans 2:4 (NKJV) raises this question regarding God’s goodness:

Or do you despise the riches of His goodness, forbearance, and longsuffering, not knowing that the goodness of God leads you to repentance?

The lyrics to another song also ask the same question and provide an answer:

Don’t you know the goodness of God leads us to repentance?

He has cancelled the curse and commuted our sentence.

By His gift of love and grace, Christ has taken our place

And redeemed us from the hand of the enemy.

Open your eyes and you will see

His goodness and forbearance and longsuffering.

Yes, the goodness of God leads us to repentance.

Yes, the goodness of God leads us to repentance.

As Christian believers, we give thanks to God for His grace and goodness. With our lips we give praise and bless the Lord, singing of His goodness. One of the most often quoted Old Testament passages is Psalm 23 which mentions the goodness of the Lord in the last verse:

23 The Lord is my shepherd; I shall not want.

He maketh me to lie down in green pastures: he leadeth me beside the still waters.

He restoreth my soul: he leadeth me in the paths of righteousness for his name’s sake.

Yea, though I walk through the valley of the shadow of death, I will fear no evil: for thou art with me; thy rod and thy staff they comfort me.

Thou preparest a table before me in the presence of mine enemies: thou anointest my head with oil; my cup runneth over.

Surely goodness and mercy shall follow me all the days of my life: and I will dwell in the house of the Lord forever.

The last verse reminds us that goodness, like a rear guard, a powerful “back-up,” follows us throughout our lives. Israel Houghton shares this lively musical reminder of this life-sustaining truth:

Tags: , , , , , ,

Leave a Reply

