Restore that person gently

Galatians 6--1-2

The Verse of the Day for January 24, 2017 directs our attention to Galatians 6:1, to which we also add verse 2 to complete the thought:

Galatians 6:1-2 (NIV):

[Doing Good to All] Brothers and sisters, if someone is caught in a sin, you who live by the Spirit should restore that person gently. But watch yourselves, or you also may be tempted. Carry each other’s burdens, and in this way you will fulfill the law of Christ.

These verses express that when we see a brother or sister fall under a heavy burden of sin, we can spiritually come along side of that person and offer assistance in bearing that burden. We are to “restore that person gently.” This reference brings to mind a Quote of the Day blog entry posted last year:

“God is in the restoration business. He delights in transforming lives through the healing touch of the Lord Jesus Christ, who redeemers and restores and makes whole every wounded soul who calls out for help.”

Not only is God concerned about restoration, but we should also make restoration our business. As we endeavor to restore our brothers and sisters, we recognize that restoration is a process that should be engaged with a “spirit of gentleness, not with a sense of superiority or self-righteousness,” so states the Amplified Bible.

The verb “restore” in the Greek New Testament refers to a dislocated limb. In light of that, restoring the limb to its proper position must be done gently. We must keep this in mind as we endeavor to “restore” one another. During this time of restoration and recovery, we make our brothers and sisters aware of God’s desire that they be restored, as expressed in these lyrics:

Rest in me and recover.

Your strength and courage I will renew.

As you trust me you will uncover

The power of Christ at work within you.

I am all that you need.

 

Rest in me and you will discover

I am the Lord, and I do not faint.

Be assured I never get weary.

Rest in me and be comforted to know

I am all that you need.

 

Rest in me and mount up as eagles.

You shall walk and shall not faint.

You shall run and not be weary.

Rest in me and know that I shall not fail.

I am all that you need.

 

I am all that you need in the time of famine.

I am the one that shall feed and satisfy your soul.

I am all that you need in the time of trouble.

I will hasten to be by your side. Now, don’t you see?

I am all that you need.

The Verse of the Day and its reference to the previous Quote of the Day also bring to mind this powerful song restoration by Kevin Levar, “I Will Restore” the perfect way to cap off today’s entry:

 

Tags: , , ,

Leave a Reply

