We will not fear: What can man do?

 

psalm-118-5-6

During times of intense discouragement and distress, as believers we need words of encouragement to assure us that we will get through the challenging circumstances we face each day. Taken from the Amplified Bible Classic Edition, the Verse of the Day for January 11, 2017 provides such a reservoir of assurance from which we can draw strength and comfort that God is with us:

Psalm 118:5-6 (AMPC):

Out of my distress I called upon the Lord; the Lord answered me and set me free and in a large place. The Lord is on my side; I will not fear. What can man do to me?

Similar words found in Deuteronomy 31:6, 8 (AMPC) reinforce this message:

6 Be strong, courageous, and firm; fear not nor be in terror before them, for it is the Lord your God Who goes with you; He will not fail you or forsake you.
8 It is the Lord Who goes before you; He will [march] with you; He will not fail you or let you go or forsake you; [let there be no cowardice or flinching, but] fear not, neither become broken [in spirit—depressed, dismayed, and unnerved with alarm].

The profound truth that God has promised that He will never leave nor forsake those who trust in Him and call upon His name reverberates throughout the scriptures. This message is especially well expressed in Hebrews 13:5-6 in the Amplified Bible where a footnote connects verse 6 with Psalm 118:6:

5 Let your character or moral disposition be free from love of money [including greed, avarice, lust, and craving for earthly possessions] and be satisfied with your present [circumstances and with what you have]; for He [God] Himself has said, I will not in any way fail you nor give you up nor leave you without support. [I will] not, [I will] not, [I will] not in any degree leave you helpless nor forsake nor let [you] down (relax My hold on you)! [Assuredly not!]
6 So we take comfort and are encouraged and confidently and boldly say, The Lord is my Helper; I will not be seized with alarm [I will not fear or dread or be terrified]. What can man do to me?

Kenneth Wuest’s Word Studies in the Greek New Testament emphatically reinforces the truth that God will not forsake His children in this translation of Hebrews 13:5-6:

Let your manner of life be without love of money, being satisfied with your present circumstances. For He Himself has said, and the statement is on record, I will not, I will not cease to sustain and uphold you, I will not, I will not, I will not let you down. So that being of good courage, we say, The Lord is my helper. I will not fear. What shall man do to me?

While reflecting on these verse, the lyrics to the familiar hymn “How Firm a Foundation” also come to mind and further reiterate the message of this passage from Hebrews, especially the last stanza:

“The soul that on Jesus hath leaned for repose
I will not, I will not, desert to his foes;
That soul, though all hell should endeavor to shake,
I’ll never, no never, no never, forsake!”

Previously, a most remarkable sunesis or coming together of rivers of understanding, occurred in my mind that overflowed with inspiration to compose this poem:

This We Know Is True

Hebrews 13:5-6

God says, “I will never, never, never leave you.”
“All those called by My name I will never forsake.”
Despite all that befalls us, this we know is true.

To do His will, we do whatever it may take.
His comforting words encourage, and we now see:
“All those called by name I will never forsake.”

We walk by faith beyond anything we can see.
Since God is our helper, we say, “We will not fear.”
His comforting words encourage, and we now see.

Though He may seem far away, He is always near.
We will not covet anything: We are content.
Since God is our helper, we say, “We will not fear.”

When fiery trials press us to the fullest extent,
We rest in the Word of God, in absolute trust.
We will not covet anything: we are content.

We rest in the Word of God, in absolute trust.
God says, “I will never, never, never leave you.”
We rest in the Word of God, in absolute trust.
Despite all that befalls us, this we know is true.

The ever-popular hymn “How Firm a Foundation” is offered by Sovereign Grace Music to remind us of God’s ever-abiding presence.

Tags: , , , , ,

Leave a Reply

