My delight is in you

psalm-119-143

The Verse of the Day for November 15, 2016 makes reference to trouble and anguish that so often overtake us, particularly in the midst the turbulent times in which we live.

Psalm 119:143:

Trouble and anguish have overtaken me, yet Your commandments are my delights.

The New Living Translations states:

As pressure and stress bear down on me, I find joy in your commands.

Trouble and anguish, inseparable traveling companions, taunt us as we navigate through the turbulent times in which we live. Despite the most challenging circumstances, we can find comfort and joy in the Word of God. Like the Psalmist, as believers, we can also delight ourselves in the Lord, knowing that as we act, we will see a corresponding action on God’s part:

Psalm 37:4 (NLT)

Take delight in the Lord, and he will give you your heart’s desires.

Throughout the Psalms we note that pleasure and joy come from Word of God:

Psalm 40:8 in the Amplified Bible reveals a similar truth:

I delight to do Your will, O my God; yes, Your law is within my heart.

Other verses in Psalm 119 also offer reminders of the Scriptures as a source of pleasure:

Psalm 119:24

Your laws please me; they give me wise advice.

Psalm 119:47

How I delight in your commands! How I love them!

The Verse of the Day also brings to mind a related passage from Psalm 94:18-19:

18 When I said, my foot is slipping, Your mercy and loving-kindness, O Lord, held me up.

19 In the multitude of my [anxious] thoughts within me, Your comforts cheer and delight my soul!

Verse 19 is the inspiration for this scripture memory song:

 In the Multitude of My Thoughts

In the multitude of my thoughts within me, Your comforts delight my soul.

You soothe my mind and strengthen the depths of my heart and soul.

I delight myself in the abundance of Your peace.

You are my God. I know You love me.

You are my God. You’ve set me free.

You are my God. You will never leave me.

You are my God. I long to be all you’ve called me to be.

In the multitude of my thoughts within me, Your comforts delight my soul.

Your comforts delight my soul.

Your comforts delight my soul.

From time to time, we may lose our focus and become anxious regarding our ever-fluctuating circumstances. During times of uncertainty when trouble and anguish attempt to derail us from our destiny, when our feet seem to slip, and we are about to lose our grip, we can turn our thoughts toward the promises of God, assured that just as He has been with us through the stormy trials of the past, so He will be with us now. Along with the Psalmist, we take comfort in this knowledge which delights our souls so much.

We close with Christy Nockels, who expresses the essence of this message with “My Delight is in You.”

Tags: , , ,

Leave a Reply

