God’s restoration business

Rather than expounding upon the Verse of the Day, once again we examine the Quote of the Day for November 3, 2016 where we find this comforting reminder:

“God is in the restoration business. He delights in transforming lives through the healing touch of the Lord Jesus Christ, who redeemers and restores and makes whole every wounded soul who calls out for help.”

So often as believers we will find ourselves in what seems to be a horrible mess, generally one of our own making, and we cry out to our Heavenly Father to come to our rescue once more. In thinking about such recurring incidents, I recall a teaching that discussed “Moving from Rescue to Restoration” in an effort to encourage and strengthen believers as we undergo that process. The Quote of the Day also brings to mind God ultimate desire to rescue and restore.

The accompanying scripture reveals God’s plans and purpose for His people, as the New Living Testament renders Jeremiah 29:11-14 in this way:

11 For I know the plans I have for you,” says the Lord. “They are plans for good and not for disaster, to give you a future and a hope. 12 In those days when you pray, I will listen. 13 If you look for me wholeheartedly, you will find me. 14 I will be found by you,” says the Lord. “I will end your captivity and restore your fortunes. I will gather you out of the nations where I sent you and will bring you home again to your own land.”

Although the words of Jeremiah were specifically addressed to Israel concerning their release from Babylonian captivity after seventy years, we recognize the truth expressed in Romans 15:4:

Whatsoever things were written aforetime, were written for our learning, that we through patience and comfort of the scriptures, might have hope.

The prophetic word from Jeremiah can certainly have personal application, in that the plans that God has for each of His children are no less grand than those He has for the Children of Israel whom God will rescue from captivity and restore their fortunes.

When I think of the word “restoration,” I recall special retreat center where ministers could visit and be refreshed and restored in a healing atmosphere of love and compassion. While visiting this location nestled in the rolling hills of Virginia 10 years ago, I was inspired to write the following expression of what transpired during my visit:

Restoration Rivers

He makes me to lie down in green pastures;

  He leads me beside the still waters.

 He restores my soul;

Psalm 23

 

By the still waters, God sat me down, and I wept,

Not in sorrow, but my soul overflowed with joy

When I recalled that He never slumbered nor slept

And what He designed for good nothing can destroy.

I released burdens, and without hesitation

Abba, Father assured me that He sees and cares.

As I wept by the rivers of restoration,

His heart of compassion was touched by fervent prayers.

In the hammock of love, the Spirit cradled me

And caressed my weary mind with a gentle breeze,

As I reflected on this phase of my journey,

While resting under a canopy of oak trees.

Our great Shepherd is faithful and still delivers;

Follow his leading to Restoration Rivers.

The Quote of the Day and its accompanying verses also bring to mind this powerful song restoration by Kevin Levar, “I Will Restore” the perfect way to cap off this blog entry:

Tags: , , ,

Leave a Reply

