Waiting on God: not time wasted

Psalm-27--14

A couple of days ago, in an effort to introduce more variety than the typical Verse of the Day, I added another category, the Quote of the Day into Dr. J’ Apothecary Shoppe. Today, we continue with a second “’Quote of the Day” for October 13, 2016:

Waiting on God is not time wasted; it is time invested.

The accompanying scripture is the closing verse of my favorite Psalm:

Psalm 27:14:

Wait on the LORD: be of good courage, and he shall strengthen your heart; wait, I say, on the LORD!

The Quote of the Day brings to mind an incident that occurred years ago whereby I made a similar offhanded remark when I brought in my car for what I thought would be a minor repair that would not take much time. In anticipation that I would not be waiting long, I did not bring any additional work or reading material. When I was informed that I would have to wait almost two additional hours, in exasperation, I remarked to myself, “I’m wasting my time!” As soon as I expressed that thought, I heard the voice of the Lord saying, “Since when is spending time with me a waste of time?” Immediately I repented of that thoughtless comment and apologized. Since that time I have come to realize that spending time with God fellowshipping with the Father is never wasted time. Indeed, it is time well spent.

I remember the lyrics to “In the Garden,” a song first learned in childhood in the 1950s that speaks of sublime communion with God:

I come to the garden alone,
While the dew is still on the roses,
And the voice I hear falling on my ear
The Son of God discloses.

Refrain:
And He walks with me, and He talks with me,
And He tells me I am His own;
And the joy we share as we tarry there,
None other has ever known.

As the years have passed, I have learned that even when God appears to be not speaking, He is still loving and expressing His love, as the lyrics to this original song remind me:

Silence is golden, and in this golden moment

I long to hear a word from the Lord,

But my prayers do not reach you, and I cry aloud in vain.

It seems that for days you have not spoken a word.

Then I stop to think, and I look around,

But the air is still, and there still is no sound.

In this golden moment I sense your presence,

And I savor the essence of your faithfulness and goodness,

As I remember the words you have said,

“I will never, never leave you,

Nor never, never, never forsake you.”

You have pledged your love, and your covenant is true.

Even in your silence, you are saying, “I still love you.”

Even in your silence, you are saying, “I still love you.”

Both song lyrics and Psalm 27:14 reinforce the message that spending time with the Lord is never wasted time.

Michael Richardson closes with this musical reminder to “Wait on the Lord.”

Tags: , ,

Leave a Reply

