Mirror image of “now” is “won”

 

2-corinthians-2-14

Rather than posting an entry on the Verse of the Day, I sometimes comment on the Word for the Day. Such is the case, for October 2, 2016, as I think of a word of enduring significance—a word for all seasons—“a right now” word—the adverb indicating time: NOW.

Years ago I recall a Bible study where I taught on this important three-letter word. I have long since lost my notes, but I remember asking the participants, “What time is it?” Several responses included the day and time, down to the minute and even the seconds as revealed on a stop watch. I then said. “The time is now.” I went on to ask, “What time will it be in 5 minutes, in 50 minutes, in 50 years, if the Lord tarries

To illustrate my point even more graphically, I had a poster board with the outline of a clock with minutes and hours marked out. On the face of the clock there were no hands, however. In the center of clock in bold block letters was “NOW.”

In the teaching were a number of references to scriptures that included the word now. 1 John 3:2 (NKJV) makes known this truth:

Beloved, now we are children of God; and it has not yet been revealed what we shall be, but we know that when He is revealed, we shall be like Him, for we shall see Him as He is.

Elsewhere believers are identified in this distinctive way:

2 Corinthians 5:20 (NKJV):

20 Now then, we are ambassadors for Christ, as though God were pleading through us: we implore you on Christ’s behalf, be reconciled to God.

For past several years, I will sometimes give myself a morning motivational talk, as I look in the mirror and repeat an expression attributed to Kim Clement, “I see myself somewhere in the future, and I’m looking so much better than I look right now.” I go on to add this little quip: “But right now, I’m looking good!”

The word now recently came into play at my church, Christian Provision Ministries in Sanford, NC when the church displayed a new logo and adopted a new theme: “The Future is Now!” In thinking about that expression, I also recall this phrase from an original poem with the same title: “Now is the yet to be.” The essence of the timelessness of now is also revealed here:

The Eternal Moment

Redeeming the time because the days are evil.

Ephesians 5:16

Now is always the time.

Though grains of sand

fall and form

a mountain

range,

Now

does not

add nor take;

the moment cannot change.

The time is always Now.

I made a remarkable discovery regarding looking at words in the mirror. What you observe is the mirror image of the word or the word is spelled backwards. What do you get when you reverse the letters of NOW?  The word WON: a reminder that as believers we have already won the victory through Jesus Christ, our Lord and Savior.

Another verse that begins with “now” immediately came to mind:

2 Corinthians 2:14

14 Now thanks be to God who always leads us in triumph in Christ, and through us diffuses the fragrance of His knowledge in every place.

Graham Kendrick offers a song that make reference to this verse: “May the Fragrance of Jesus”

Tags: , , , , ,

Leave a Reply

