Looking up to see where I am presently

This photo of sign hung above an apothecary shop in Colonial Williamsburg brought to mind my former career as a pharmacist, as I "looked up."

This photo of a sign hung above an apothecary shop in Colonial Williamsburg was taken as I “looked up.”

Today’s post is in response to the daily photo challenge with the theme “Look up.” I became aware of the challenge on Joseph Elon Lillie’s blog:

The photo taken over the 4th of July holiday is of the sign hung above the apothecary shop in Colonial Williamsburg. Although I have not been actively involved with my former profession as a pharmacist for more than 22 years, my visit to Williamsburg reminded me that I am now dispensing “medications” of a different sort through my blog called “Dr. J’s Apothecary Shoppe” where I am “filling prescriptions to minister to the heart and soul.” Now I see that I am still compounding:

After the Art of the Apothecary

And thou shalt make it an oil of holy ointment,
an ointment compound after the art of the apothecary:
it shall be an holy anointing oil.

Exodus 30:25 [KJV]

I desire to follow recipes and not to vary
From the prescribed formulas for the remedies I need,
To compound after the art of the apothecary.

I long to work circumspectly and always be wary,
To measure and mix precisely for love and not for greed.
I desire to follow recipes and not to vary.

I recall yearning to learn from childhood days in Gary,
To weigh my decisions and follow as the Lord would lead,
To compound after the art of the apothecary.

I seek to formulate my ideal art and to marry
Vocation and avocation as one of love and need.
I desire to follow recipes and not to vary.

I attempt to move with wisdom but never to tarry
To master each prescription, to excel and to succeed,
To compound after the art of the apothecary.

The sweet smelling savor I desire my life to carry
Is the pure, holy anointing oil tempered of my need.
I desire to follow recipes and not to vary,
To compound after the art of the apothecary.

In a previous blog post, I concluded with a music video described as another dose of good medicine: Medicine (for someone else) by Ruben Studdard:

Look Up

Tags: , , , ,

Leave a Reply

