God’s way is perfect: a shield and buckler

Psalm 18_1--3

Revised and re-posted from a previous blog entry, the Verse of the Day for July 7, 2016 speaks of some of the outstanding attributes of God:

Psalm 18:30 (NLT):

God’s way is perfect. All the Lord’s promises prove true. He is a shield for all who look to him for protection.

2 Samuel 22:31 in the New Living Testament expresses the same truth verbatim:

“God’s way is perfect.
All the Lord’s promises prove true.

In discussing perfection, we recognize that we cannot find even the slightest trace of imperfection in the Lord our God:

Deuteronomy 32:4 (NLT):

He is the Rock; his deeds are perfect. Everything he does is just and fair. He is a faithful God who does no wrong; how just and upright he is!

The Psalmist also reiterates the message:

Psalm 119:138 (NLT):

Your laws are perfect and completely trustworthy.

Not only is God perfect in all His ways, but He makes perfect the ways of those who follow Him:

The passage containing the Verse of the Day makes a statement in verse 30 and asks a question in verse 31 and provides the answer in Verse 32 of Psalm 18 also notes that God who is perfect also perfects:

30 God’s way is perfect.
All the Lord’s promises prove true.
He is a shield for all who look to him for protection.
31 For who is God except the Lord?
Who but our God is a solid rock?
32 God arms me with strength,
and he makes my way perfect.

2 Samuel 22:33 (NLT) reminds us that

God is my strong fortress, and he makes my way perfect.

The Psalmist goes on to make a similar statement in Psalm 138:8 (NKJV)

The Lord will perfect that which concerns me; Your mercy, O Lord, endures forever; Do not forsake the works of Your hands.

The Verse of the Day and other references throughout the Psalms and other passages in the Old Testament God is and what He does

Psalm 18:2 provides a series of metaphor describing the Lord God:

The Lord is my rock, and my fortress, and my deliverer; my God, my strength, in whom I will trust; my buckler, and the horn of my salvation, and my high tower.

Another claim that God is a buckler is found in Proverbs 2:7:

He layeth up sound wisdom for the righteous: he is a buckler to them that walk uprightly.

In the Psalms we find two additional references to God as both “shield and buckler”:

Psalm 35:2:

Take hold of shield and buckler, and stand up for mine help.

Psalm 91:4:

He shall cover thee with his feathers, and under his wings shalt thou trust: his truth shall be thy shield and buckler.

In the Milihistory Quarterly, the Journal for Military Miniature Enthusiasts, an article on “shield and buckler” notes these distinctions:

One of the most misunderstood weapons is the shield.  Many think it is little more than a small wall to catch the blows of an opponent.  In actuality, the shield and its smaller version, the buckler, are weapons in their own right.  Rather than catching a blow passively, they are moved to parry and deflect.  A fighter would rather push a blow aside than catch its full force on his shield.  Shields and bucklers are also used aggressively. They can strike, push, trap and pin as well as defend.

The two weapons are used in conjunction with one another, both defensively as well as offensively.

In the midst of the fiercest and most intense battles that we face, it is comforting to know that the Lord God, Adonai, who is mighty in battle, is our shield and buckler.

The poem “Protect Me,” from a series of teachings entitled “A Five-fold Prayer,” reinforces the message that God is faithful and that He is “my buckler, my shield. . . ”

As a child runs to safety in his father’s arms,

So I, too, run to you, “my shelter from life’s storms.”

Lord, I long to dwell with you in the secret place,

My buckler, my shield, deliverer, my fortress,

Strong tower, defender, who responds to my prayer.

For Lord, you are faithful, who will establish me

And protect me and deliver me from evil.

Clint Brown provides a musical version of Psalm 18 which speaks of God as “my fortress and my deliverer . . . my buckler”:

 

 

 

 

Tags: , , , , , ,

Leave a Reply

