I, the Lord, search all hearts

 

Jeremiah 17--9-10

Jeremiah 17:9-10 (NLT)

“The human heart is the most deceitful of all things, and desperately wicked. Who really knows how bad it is? But I, the Lord, search all hearts and examine secret motives. I give all people their due rewards, according to what their actions deserve.”

The Verse of the Day brings to mind the third part of “A Five-fold Prayer,” a series of commentaries based on a statement regarding the ways of God when we find ourselves in perplexing situations that challenge our faith. In such instances, God is endeavoring to do one or a combination of five things: “Direct you; Inspect you; Correct you; Protect you; Perfect you.” After hearing those words, I took those five verbs and formed them into a request, a petition, a personal prayer to God.  I asked God to become the initiator of the action, and I would become the object of his action. I also examined each of the verbs with scriptural illustrations from the Old Testament and New Testament and composed a prayer/psalm inspired by each verb at the end of each section related to each of the five verbs. In Part 3 I ask God to “Inspect Me.”  Since there is no word “inspect” used in the King James Version, I used “search” that has the following definition and found in the following scriptures:

Psalm 139:1-5, 23-24:

 

O LORD, thou hast searched me, and known me.

2  Thou knowest my downsitting and mine uprising, thou understandest my thought afar off.

3  Thou compassest my path and my lying down, and art acquainted with all my ways.

4  For there is not a word in my tongue, but, lo, O LORD, thou knowest it altogether.

Thou hast beset me behind and before, and laid thine hand upon me.

 

23  Search me, O God, and know my heart: try me, and know my thoughts:

 

24  And see if there be any wicked way in me, and lead me in the way everlasting.

 

 

1 Chronicles 28:9 mentions similar characteristics of God:

 

9  As for you, Solomon my son, know the God of thy father, and serve him with a perfect heart and with a willing mind: for the LORD searches all hearts, and understands all the imaginations of the thoughts: if you seek him, he will be found of you; but if you forsake him, he will cast you off for ever.

 

 

Verse 28 of this celebrated passage contains what I consider as my favorite verse in all of the Bible:

Romans 8:27-28

27  And he that searches the hearts knows what is the mind of the Spirit, because he makes intercession for the saints according to the will of God.

28  And we know that all things work together for good to them that love God, to them who are the called according to his purpose.

The following poem reiterates the message of the Verse of the Day and related scriptures:

 

God Searches

But I, the Lord, search all hearts and examine secret motives.

 I give all people their due rewards,

according to what their actions deserve.”

Jeremiah 17:10

 

God searches the depths of each soul and probes each heart,

To uncover each motive and extract the pure,

Discarding dross, thus perfecting the refiner’s art.

The word of prophecy stands as even more sure,

The touchstone to measure the essence of all life.

All else shall fail but the Word shall ever inspire.

This two-edged sword, sharper than a finely honed knife–

Living, powerful, piercing each thought and desire,

Penetrating soul and spirit, joints and marrow–

Probing deepest emotions, dispelling the dark.

Life-giving and powerful, swift as an arrow

That finds its target and that always hits its mark

Reaching its own perfection, to its fullest extent,

The Word of God prospers wherever it is sent.

 

Hillsong offer “Search Me O God”

Tags: , , , , ,

Leave a Reply

