Another paradox: Gaining and losing

Matthew 16--25

The Verse of the Day for June 27, 2016 comes from Matthew 16:25 (AMP):

For whoever wishes to save his life [in this world] will [eventually] lose it [through death], but whoever loses his life [in this world] for My sake will find it [that is, life with Me for all eternity].

The New Living Translation puts it this way:

Matthew 16:25

25 If you try to hang on to your life, you will lose it. But if you give up your life for my sake, you will save it.

Jesus Christ also point out the paradox of gaining and losing in a similar context in Matthew 10:38-39 (AMP):

38 And he who does not take his cross [expressing a willingness to endure whatever may come] and follow Me [believing in Me, conforming to My example in living and, if need be, suffering or perhaps dying because of faith in Me] is not worthy of Me.

39 Whoever finds his life [in this world] will [eventually] lose it [through death], and whoever loses his life [in this world] for My sake will find it [that is, life with Me for all eternity].

Christ contrasts life which is temporal vs. life eternal. If a follower of Christ focuses time, energy, and effort only on “the things of this world,” that is only on temporal matters, seeking to gain life, eventually that individual will lose that which he or she sought so desperately to gain. On the other hand, if a follower of Christ is willing to “lose his or her life” in an earthly, temporal context, that individual will gain eternal life far beyond the timespan of life on this Earth.

Philippians 3:7-8 also speaks of gain and loss:

But what things were gain to me, these I have counted loss for Christ.

Yet indeed I also count all things loss for the excellence of the knowledge of Christ Jesus my Lord, for whom I have suffered the loss of all things, and count them as rubbish, that I may gain Christ

Paul expresses a similar duality in terms of gaining and losing in Philippians 1:21(AMP):

[To Live Is Christ] For to me, to live is Christ [He is my source of joy, my reason to live] and to die is gain [for I will be with Him in eternity].

To sum up the discussion, Sidewalk Prophets provide this musical offering: “To Live is Christ”:

Tags: , , ,

Leave a Reply

