Birthday reflections: More than a conqueror

 

 

 

 

Romans 8--37

On June 17, 2016 I reflect with gratitude to God for another year, and as is my tradition, I compose a poem of celebration on my birthday. Now that I think about it, this tradition began on my 21st birthday, even before I knew that I was a poet at heart when I penned these lines:

Upon Turning Twenty-one

The day came and went,

and I felt no different,

a day like any other,

Yet why so much significance?

This day should mean so much to me,

but I felt as I did at seventeen.

Was I then a man,

or am I yet to be?

I preface the new piece with recollections of a teaching that I shared completely in Spanish when learning the language at the time. In an effort to learn the language, I attended a Bible fellowship conducted entirely in Spanish. After several weeks, I was asked to prepare and deliver a 10-minute teaching totally in Spanish. I recall that I selected Romans 8:37 from the Reina-Valera Bible:

Romanos 8:37:

37 Antes, en todas estas cosas somos más que vencedores por medio de aquel que nos amó.

In light of my birthday poem which uses Romans 8:37 as its epigraph or introduction, I recognize the truth that Word never returns void:

Isaiah 55:11

So shall My word be that goes forth from My mouth; It shall not return to Me void, But it shall accomplish what I please, And it shall prosper in the thing for which I sent it.

Romans 8:37 is the epigraph or introduction for the poem that expresses my new identity in light of a recent post that discusses the Word for the Day, “Survivor,” and my subsequent discovery of what the term really means 16 years after receiving my diagnosis of prostate cancer 16 years ago.

Not Just a Survivor                     

Celebrating my 74th birthday

June 17, 2016

 Yet in all these things we are more than conquerors

and gain an overwhelming victory through Him

who loved us [so much that He died for us].

Romans 8:37 (AMP)

 

Not just a survivor, more than a conqueror,

Defying the odds as a brave conquistador.

Despite intense pressure I learn to rest in grace,

More than enough to withstand the daily tests I face,

Not merely to survive but to thrive even more.

 

A mighty warrior, triumphant super victor

With a cause, prepared not to die but to live for.

At times I fell behind but fought to keep the pace:

Not just a survivor.

 

To fulfill all the will of God and then to soar

To heights sublime where I have never been before.

Overcomer, bearing light in the darkest place,

I still fight the good fight, as I finish my race,

Moving forward, seeking to find the next open door:

Not just a survivor.

 

The perfect music to complement my celebration is “More than Conquerors” by the Rend Collection:

Tags: , ,

5 Responses to “Birthday reflections: More than a conqueror”

  1. Gary Curtis Says:

    HAPPY, HAPPY BIRTHDAY, Lonnell! Que seas muy, muy feliz. I was just looking over Stone Upon Stone again. What a blessing! All my best to all your family, especially to Brenda.

    Agape and Philadelphia,
    Gary Curtis

  2. happycurls Says:

    Happiest of Birthdays to you!!

Leave a Reply

