Psalm 139: Search me and know me

Psalm 139--3-14The Verse of the Day for May 14, 2016 comes from one of my favorite psalms:

Psalm 139:13-14 (NKJV)

For You formed my inward parts; You covered me in my mother’s womb. I will praise You, for I am fearfully and wonderfully made; Marvelous are Your works, And that my soul knows very well.

Here is a rendering in the New Living Translation:

13You made all the delicate, inner parts of my body
and knit me together in my mother’s womb.
14 Thank you for making me so wonderfully complex!
Your workmanship is marvelous—how well I know it

This passage has been the source of comments for two previous blog entries which discussed Psalm 139 as a whole. One particular entry was devoted to discussing, not the Verse of the Day, but to what was designated as the “Word for the Day,” meaning that I had chosen to examine a particular word and expound upon its meaning and personal application. The Word for the Day at that time was “research.” In a similar way, I currently teach a composition course where my students are working on a research paper, and simultaneously as a professor at Carolina College of Biblical Studies, I continue serving on the dissertation committee for a colleague who is completing the research for his dissertation from another university. The term “research” thus has been and continues to be very much in my thoughts of late.

Research in its most literal sense means to “re-search” or to “search again.” My thoughts turned to Psalm 139, which in its entirety can be viewed as an invitation to deepest, divine inspection. The Psalmist opens with recognition that God knows all about us. He has made, formed and created us. Indeed, we are “fearfully and wonderfully made.”

Listen as Esther Mui expresses Psalm 139:1-18 as a Christian Scripture Worship Song: “You Have Searched Me and Known Me.”

The celebrated psalm closes with a heartfelt request in verses 23-24:

Search me, O God, and know my heart: try me, and know my thoughts: And see if there be any wicked way in me, and lead me in the way everlasting.

In reflecting upon these passages from Psalm 139, my mind is flooded with an understanding of what is transpiring in my life at this time. God is doing precisely what I asked Him to do in this poem which expresses my deepest desire:

Search Me: A Song for You

“I know your image of me is what I hope to be

If I’ve treated you unkindly, can’t you see?

That there’s no one more important to me.

Oh, won’t you please look through me. . . “

 “A Song for You”–Leon Russell

                                            

Search me, O God, and know my heart:

try me, and know my thoughts:

 And see if there be any wicked way in me,

and lead me in the way everlasting.

Psalm 139: 23-24

 

The whole of my life unfolds as an open book,

Known and read by all with eyes to see, page by page.

As you read each line, take an even closer look,

Probe the depths of each of my thoughts, as you engage

The text, searching my heart for its deepest meaning.

Your searching and knowing is the ultimate scan.

As you discern my essence, my inmost being,

I will align myself according to your plan.

Beyond MRIs, devices to diagnose,

You see and assess any abnormality.

In these times of watchful waiting, you draw me close:

Despite what tests reveal, you will heal and deliver me.

At times I’m overwhelmed and don’t know what to do,

“But we’re alone now, and I’m singing this song to you.”

Once more Esther Mui offers a moving rendition of Psalm 139:23-24 in the Christian Scripture Praise Worship Song: “Lead Me in the Way Everlasting.”

Tags: , ,

One Response to “Psalm 139: Search me and know me”

  1. Melissa Simkins Says:

    This was right on time and truly blessed my soul. Thank you for all you do to share so much love, light and the word!

Leave a Reply

