Secure in the Father’s hand

John 10--28-30 2

The Verse of the Day for April 21, 2016 comes from John 10:28-30 (Amplified Bible):

And I give them eternal life, and they shall never lose it or perish throughout the ages. [To all eternity they shall never by any means be destroyed.] And no one is able to snatch them out of My hand. My Father, Who has given them to Me, is greater and mightier than all [else]; and no one is able to snatch [them] out of the Father’s hand. I and the Father are One.

The passage offers comfort to those who put their trust in the Lord, knowing that they are securely held in His hand and that no one is able “to snatch them or pluck them out of the Father’s hand.” Knowing that God is good and that there is no one good but the Father, we realize that we are in good hands, even better than Allstate Insurance.

Not only does God, our Father, hold us in the palms of His hands, but the scriptures also reveal that He has tattooed portraits of His beloved people in the palms of His hands.

The Amplified Bible (AMP) offers this rendering of Isaiah 49:16

Behold, I have indelibly imprinted (tattooed a picture of) you on the palm of each of My hands; [O Zion] your walls are continually before Me.

The New King James Version (NKJV) says this:

See, I have inscribed you on the palms of My hands;
Your walls are continually before Me.

Although tattooing is extremely popular today, and we see the names and portraits of individuals inked on the skin of countless people across the world, what God has done is unique in expressing His love for people. Bishop KC Pillai, a converted Hindu, who dedicated his life to enlightening students of the Bible regarding Orientalisms or customs and practices from the Eastern sectors of the world, explains that tattooing is the oriental way of remembering people expressed in Isaiah 49:16:

If you give a present you may lose it, but if you tattoo something on an individual you will never lose it. Therefore, we always remember you. They tattoo all over the arm different places, but never in the palm. The palm is too tender and delicate. It takes time to look for other tattoos, but here in the hand [there is] no time to look, just as open as your palm.

Every time God “does something with His hand” those whom He loves come to mind, for He remembers everything about them. God put us in His palms—we are always before Him, figuratively beyond the lyrics of Willie Nelson: “We are always on His mind.”

In reflecting on the passage from John 10, I recall a similar expression of comfort as far as God’s hands are concerned:

Psalm 31:15 (NKJV):

My times are in Your hand; Deliver me from the hand of my enemies, And from those who persecute me.

This verse, in part, provides the inspiration for the following lyrics:

My Times Are In Your Hand

There are times in life when I simply don’t understand,
When I cannot see the intricacy of your perfect plan,
When I’m tossed about and full of doubt,
When it seems I just can’t endure,
Your spirit comes beside me,
To comfort and to guide me,
To redirect and reassure,
To help me understand that my times are in your hand.

My times are in your hand.
My times are in your hand.
Your spirit comes beside me,
To comfort and to guide me,
To redirect and reassure,
To help me understand that my times are in your hand.

My times are in your hand.
My times are in your hand.
I submit every vision, each purpose and plan.
Though I may never fully understand,
I stand secure in knowing my times are in your hand.

It’s so comforting to know
My times are in your hand.
My times are in your hand.
My times are in your hand.

Stephen Collins also offers a song: My Times are in Your Hands.

Tags: , , ,

Leave a Reply

