Forget not but remember

Psalm_103-1

From Psalm 103:1-2 in the New Living Testament comes the Verse of the Day for December 27, 2015:

[Psalm 103] [A psalm of David.] Let all that I am praise the Lord; with my whole heart, I will praise his holy name. Let all that I am praise the Lord; may I never forget the good things he does for me.

An expanded translation of these two verses is found in the Amplified Bible:

Psalm 103:1-2

1BLESS (AFFECTIONATELY, gratefully praise) the Lord, O my soul; and all that is [deepest] within me, bless His holy name!

2Bless (affectionately, gratefully praise) the Lord, O my soul, and forget not [one of] all His benefits—

The words of the Psalmist encourage believers not to forget the blessings and benefits that God has bestowed upon us. Unfortunately, it is so easy to forget God’s blessings and to take His generosity for granted. This seems to be especially the case after occasions where the blessings of the Lord are so clearly evident, such as those times when we are basking the overflow of God’s bountiful goodness following a great celebration, such as this past Christmas. One way that we can never forget is to always remember: to consciously recall and write down the blessings that we enjoy. The exhortation from Psalm 103, one of my favorite Psalms, brings to mind this song:

I Will Remember

I will remember. I will remember
I will remember your love in times of joy, in times of sorrow.
I will remember, always remember, each triumphant victory we have won
In the love you displayed in Your Son.
I will remember, always remember
I will remember. I will remember.
I will remember the fire that first warmed my heart.
I will remember. I will remember.
I will remember the desire to love and to serve only You.

I will remember, always remember.
I will never forget Your Word.
I will remember, always remember.
I will never forget You are my Lord.
I will remember, always remember.
I will remember. I will remember.
I will remember, always remember.
I will never forget Your Word.

As we come to the close of another year and prepare our hearts for the blessings and the challenges that God has in store in the coming year, let us not forget all His benefits but remember just how good God has been.

Listen to a musical rendering of Psalm 103 from the King James Version:

Tags: , , ,

Leave a Reply

