A lamp unto my feet

psalm 119 105Today’s blog entry is a devotional posted a year ago on this site:

The Verse of the Day for November 17, 2015 is taken from Psalm 119, the longest chapter in the Bible. Also known as the Torah Psalm, this passage makes reference to Word of God in every verse, employing such synonyms as “statues, Law, judgments, precepts, etc. One of the most familiar metaphors used to describe the Scriptures is found in Psalm 119:105 (NLT):

[ Nun ] Your word is a lamp to guide my feet and a light for my path.

Take a look at the psalm and note that the first eight verses are labeled under Aleph, verses 9-16 are labeled under Beth; the same sequence follows for all 176 verses (8 x22). This arrangement made the psalm easier to memorize, according to the Holman Bible Handbook.

The Verse of the Day is part of the Nun section set to contemporary music in the following video by Clear:

This particular verse was among the first scripture memory songs that I ever composed with the following lyrics:

God’s Word is a lamp, a lamp unto my feet.

God’s Word is a lamp, a lamp unto my feet

God’s Word is a lamp, a lamp unto my feet

And a light unto my path.

 

When I am in the dark

And cannot find my way,

I open up the Bible

To see what God will say.

I look and find the answer

And then I gladly obey.

 

God’s Word is a lamp, a lamp unto my feet

God’s Word is a lamp, a lamp unto my feet

God’s Word is a lamp, a lamp unto my feet

And a light unto my path.

 

When you have a problem,

And you don’t know what to do,

Just open up the Bible

See what God says to you.

Just look and find the answer.

Ask yourself, “What would Jesus do?”

 

God’s Word is a lamp, a lamp unto my feet.

God’s Word is a lamp, a lamp unto my feet

God’s Word is a lamp, a lamp unto my feet

And a light unto my path.

Psalm 119:105 is also the inspiration for this beautiful worship composition “Lamp unto My Feet” by Hillsong

David W. Morris is the worship leader on “Thy Word” (Psalm 119:105) by Hosanna!Music.

Reflecting on Psalm 119:105 is a great way to launch this brand new day.

Tags: , , ,

2 Responses to “A lamp unto my feet”

  1. deborah ann Says:

    I see the Light 🙂 thank you God for giving us Your Word to shine through when all around us is dark! Amen and Amen ~ Have a blessed day with Jesus ~

Leave a Reply

