To find, to know, to do the will of God

Psalm 40--8

The Verse of the Day for October 21, 2015 is found in Psalm 40:8 (NLT):

I take joy in doing your will, my God, for your instructions are written on my heart.”

Two days ago I posted a blog entry entitled “Take Delight in the Lord” and made reference to Psalm 40:8 in the Amplified Bible:

I delight to do Your will, O my God; yes, Your law is within my heart.

In another previous blog entry on today’s Verse of the Day, I offered the following remarks which have been revised and expanded:

The Verse of the Day for October 21, 2015, in the Amplified Bible brings to mind the First Psalm, the first passage of scripture that I ever committed to memory when I was in grade school, more than 60 years ago, back in the day, in what we called “junior high school.” I remember that Mrs. Little, the local undertaker’s wife, gathered kids from the neighborhood and told us to memorize Psalm 1, which I did and still recall by heart to this day. Psalm 40:8 brought to mind Psalm 1:1-2 from the King James, the version that I chose to memorize:

Blessed is the man that walketh not in the counsel of the ungodly, nor standeth in the way of sinners, nor sitteth in the seat of the scornful.

But his delight is in the law of the Lord; and in his law doth he meditate day and night.

Here is a reading of Psalm 1 in Hebrew with English subtitles:

Psalm 1 is set to music in this selection from Kim Hill:

Another related scripture from the Book of Psalms is Psalm 119:11, a special verse that I committed to memory by composing a melody to facilitate memorizing the scripture, the first of a long series of scripture memory songs.

Thy word have I hid in mine heart, that I might not sin against thee.

Here is a similar Bible Memory Verse for Kids for Psalm 119:11 by Shannon Linville.

Another related scripture used in the blog “Take delight in the Lord” also comes from Psalm 143:10 in the Amplified Bible:

Teach me to do Your will [so that I may please You],
For You are my God;
Let Your good Spirit lead me on level ground.

Since a child, I have been endeavoring to discover the will of God for my life, as expressed in this poem:

The Will of God

To find the will of God is the greatest discovery.

To know the will of God is the greatest knowledge.

To do the will of God is the greatest achievement.

Albert Schweitzer

 

My food is to do the will of Him who sent me,

and to finish His work.

John 4:34 [NKJV]

                                                

To unearth at last the world’s most priceless treasure

And gaze upon the splendor of God’s sovereignty

Is to savor joy unspeakable beyond measure:

To find the will of God is the greatest discovery.

To know intimacy beyond the highest degree,

A confident assurance when I acknowledge

And embrace the path, the destiny, prepared for me:

To know the will of God is the greatest knowledge.

To live life, knowing I am covered by the Blood

Is to walk with no regret, never to lament,

For all decisions work together for the good:

To do the will of God is the greatest achievement.

Guided and protected by the Shepherd’s staff and rod,

I rejoice to find, to know and do the will of God.

Darius Brooks offers a passionate rendition of “Your Will,” one of my favorite songs focusing on the will of God:

Tags: , , , , ,

2 Responses to “To find, to know, to do the will of God”

  1. Isabella Says:

    great Blog I’m a massive Wrestling fan from holland

Leave a Reply

