Watching and waiting with confidence:

Psalm 62--1The Verse of the Day for October 11, 2015 reminds us that quietly waiting will be rewarded:

Psalm 62:1 (NLT)

 [For Jeduthun, the choir director: A psalm of David.] I wait quietly before God, for my victory comes from him.

The Prophet Isaiah expresses a similar view:

Isaiah 64:4 (NLT)

For since the world began,
no ear has heard
and no eye has seen a God like you,
who works for those who wait for him!

In the Gospels Jesus Christ speaks similar words of comfort and assurance regarding those who are watching and waiting in Luke 12:37 rendered in Amplified Bible this way:

37 Blessed (happy, fortunate, and to be envied) are those servants whom the master finds awake and alert and watching when he comes. Truly I say to you, he will gird himself and have them recline at table and will come and serve them!

New Living Translation (NLT) offers this rendering:

Luke 12:37

37 The servants who are ready and waiting for his return will be rewarded. I tell you the truth, he himself will seat them, put on an apron, and serve them as they sit and eat!

This particular verse was the inspiration for this original song which also refers to watching and waiting which ultimately will be rewarded:

My Eyes Are Only on You

My eyes are only on you.

My eyes are only on you.

All that you tell me that I will do.

I offer my life; I give to you.

For my eyes are only on you.

(Repeat)

As the eyes of a servant look to the hands of his Lord,

As the ears of a servant know so well His Master’s voice,

So my mind stays focused to watch and learn how you move.

Create in me a servant’s heart, teach me to serve in love.

My eyes are only on you.

My eyes are only on you.

All that you tell me that I will do.

I offer my life; I give to you.

For my eyes are only on you.

As my eyes continue to wait on my Master and Lord,

I quickly obey and gladly submit to His will.

I will fulfill my calling as I watch and wait until

He bids me to the wedding feast when He will wait on me.

My eyes are only on you.

My eyes are only on you.

All that you tell me that I will do.

I offer my life; I give to you.

For my eyes are only on you.

An underlying premise of the song makes reference to servants who observe closely their masters for the slightest gesture whereby the servants respond in loving service. Psalm 123: 2-3 alludes to such a practice:

We keep looking to the Lord our God for his mercy,
just as servants keep their eyes on their master,
as a slave girl watches her mistress for the slightest signal.
Have mercy on us, Lord, have mercy,
for we have had our fill of contempt.

Listen to Esther Mui who offers Psalm 123 Song “Unto You I Lift up My Eyes” (Christian Scripture Praise Worship with Lyrics):

Once again, we are strengthened and encouraged, as we wait on the Lord in quietness and confidence.

Tags: , ,

Leave a Reply

