Portrait of My Sweet Lady

New BJOctober 8 is a special date to a special lady in my life. My wife Brenda, the love of my life, celebrates her birthday today. As I thought of her with gratitude to God that we met and our lives entwined, I wrote this poetic tribute to express how much she means to me. Happy birthday to you, BJ, “Brenda Joyce, the wife of my youth in whom I rejoice.” Here’s to you, cheers to you, painted with words:

For my Beloved Brenda

on her birthday

October 8, 2015

Portrait of My Sweet Lady

My Sweet Lady, much more than treasured fruit of the vine:

We both prayed, then we met by God’s divine design.

Portrait of My Sweet Lady reveals my love and even more.

My Beloved Brenda, our love abounds with more in store.

To celebrate our love: a medley of our songs–some old and new:

God bless you, you make me feel brand new, for God blessed me with you.

Every time I try but still can’t see why: If only you knew

That “It had to be you, wonderful you; it had to be you.”

But we are all alone, and I am singing this song for you.

We know God brought us together: this truth we cannot ignore:

Portrait of My Sweet Lady.

I sing, “Fill my heart with song and let me sing forever more.”                                                                                                       

Sung in so many ways, “The best is yet to come” and so much more.

So in other words please be true; in other words, I love you.

In this world of ordinary people, I’m glad there is you.

“Oh, Brenda,” my beloved Brenda, gift-wrapped in God’s favor:

Portrait of My Sweet Lady.

Listen to a recording of O.C. Smith singing “Brenda,” one of the songs mentioned in the poem, a song that means so much to us since we have moved back to North Carolina, where we were living when we first heard the song:

Tags: , ,

One Response to “Portrait of My Sweet Lady”

  1. Melissa Simkins Says:

    Wow…that was so beautiful. Daddy you are so gifted with words. I know mommy feels the same way. Love you both!

    ________________________________

Leave a Reply

