A medley of songs from Psalm 63

Psalm_63-1The Verse of the Day for October 7, 2015 is found in Psalm 63:1 in the New Living Translation which provides the backdrop of one of the heart songs of David, as he desperately yearns for the presence of the living God:

[Psalm 63] [A psalm of David, regarding a time when David was in the wilderness of Judah.] O God, you are my God; I earnestly search for you. My soul thirsts for you; my whole body longs for you in this parched and weary land where there is no water.

Originally set to music, this magnificent psalm has likewise been the inspiration for many musical compositions, five of which are displayed below, beginning with lyrics to an original song written 16 years ago:

O Lord, You Are My God

(From Psalm 63)

O Lord, you are my God,

Early in the morning will I seek you,

Before the rising of the sun.

You are the God of all creation,

Faithful and true, the Holy One.

My soul thirsts for you alone,

My flesh longs for you.

In a dry and thirsty land,

Only you can satisfy the deepest longing of my soul.

My soul follows hard after you.

Your righteous right hand always upholds me.

I long to follow your command.

My soul thirsts for you alone,

My flesh longs for you.

In a dry and thirsty land,

Only you can satisfy the deepest longing of my soul.

Only you can satisfy the deepest longing of my soul.

Another great song inspired by the David’s cry to Yahweh in Psalm 63 is written by Deanne Shallenberger and Michelle Glenn, performed by Deanne:

Not only is Psalm 63 the inspiration for these two songs, it is also the basis for “My Soul Follows Hard after Thee,” performed as a medley with “I’m Gonna Love You,” two classic praise and worship compositions of Don Moen of Hosanna! Music.

Psalm 63:1-4 is also the basis for this scripture memory song:

To close out this medley, here is Psalm 63:1-5 “I Will Bless You While I Live” (Christian Worship Song) by Esther Mui and Patrick Leong.

The Verse for the Day is taken from Psalm 63, the inspiration for the lyrics of a magnificent medley of songs based on that magnificent Psalm of David.

Tags: , , ,

Leave a Reply

