Who teaches you to profit

Isaiah-48-17The Verse of the Day for September 3, 2015 provides this firm reminder:

Isaiah 48:17 (NLT)

This is what the Lord says— your Redeemer, the Holy One of Israel: “I am the Lord your God, who teaches you what is good for you and leads you along the paths you should follow.

The verse is rendered this way in the Amplified Bible:

Thus says the Lord, your Redeemer, the Holy One of Israel: I am the Lord your God, Who teaches you to profit, Who leads you in the way that you should go.

These words spoken by Isaiah to the Children of Israel while they were in Babylonian captivity express Jehovah’s ultimate desire for their redemption and freedom revealed in the verses that follow:

18 Oh, that you had listened to my commands!

Then you would have had peace flowing like a gentle river

and righteousness rolling over you like waves in the sea.

19 Your descendants would have been like the sands along the seashore—

too many to count!

There would have been no need for your destruction,

or for cutting off your family name.”

20 Yet even now, be free from your captivity!

Leave Babylon and the Babylonians.*

Sing out this message!

Shout it to the ends of the earth!

The Lord has redeemed his servants,

the people of Israel.

Even in the midst of affliction and trials that press in on every hand, there are benefits and blessings that God desires believers to experience. Recall the words of the Psalmist expressed in the lyrics to this original song inspired by Psalm 119:71:

It is good for me that I have been afflicted;

That I might learn Your statutes,

To walk in Your precepts,

To keep Your commandments,

To follow as You teach me.

It is good for me. It is good for me.

It is good for me. It is good.

I have learned to love Your Word and Your ways.

It is good for me that I have been afflicted;

That I have been made humble,

That I have known both joy and sorrow.

In times of famine and in plenty,

That You have always been beside me.

It is good for me. It is good for me.

It is good for me. It is good.

I have learned to love Your Word and Your ways.

It is good for me that I have been afflicted;

That I might learn Your statutes,

To walk in Your precepts,

To keep Your commandments,

To follow as You teach me.

It is good for me. It is good for me.

It is good for me. It is good.

I have learned to love Your Word and Your ways.

It is good for me. It is good for me.

It is good for me. It is good.

I have learned to love Your Word and Your ways.

It is good for me to draw near unto You.

I have put my trust in You

That I may declare Your works

And always sing Your praises,

And give glory to Your Name.

It is good for me. It is good for me.

It is good for me. It is good.

This entire discussion of the goodness of God culminates in my favorite Bible verse, Romans 8:28 rendered here in the Amplified Bible:

We are assured and know that [God being a partner in their labor] all things work together and are [fitting into a plan] for good to and for those who love God and are called according to [His] design and purpose.

In the words of the Spiritual: “Ain’t that Good News?”

We close this blog entry, as Terry White offers a lively rendering of Isaiah 48:17 (Who Teaches You to Profit):

Leave a Reply

