Whoever has the Son has life

KJV_1_John_5-12The Verse of the Day for August 19 differentiates between those who have life and those who do not, as 1 John 5:12 (NLT) reveals:

Whoever has the Son has life; whoever does not have God’s Son does not have life.

To more fully comprehend what God is saying, we also need to examine these related verses:

1 John 5:11-15 (NLT)

11 And this is what God has testified: He has given us eternal life, and this life is in his Son. 12 Whoever has the Son has life; whoever does not have God’s Son does not have life.

Conclusion

13 I have written this to you who believe in the name of the Son of God, so that you may know you have eternal life. 14 And we are confident that he hears us whenever we ask for anything that pleases him. 15 And since we know he hears us when we make our requests, we also know that he will give us what we ask for.

In reflecting this passage, I recall a poem written at the beginning of the New Year in 2011.

The Spirit of Life in Christ Jesus

For the law of the Spirit of life in Christ Jesus

has made me free from the law of sin and death

Romans 8:2

 

As I move into the New Year to see just what it brings,

I must learn that the life in the Spirit is where I should be.

As I press toward the mark of the prize set before me,

I have been brought into the new to do new things.

Though my desire is to please God, to succeed and to excel,

I know that I am saved by grace, not by my own merit.

I covenant with God that I will walk in the Spirit

And provide a place where the Spirit of God may dwell.

Ever aware of God’s loving kindness and faithfulness,

I embrace the Seven Spirits of God and understand

That to walk in the spirit, not in the flesh, is God’s command.

As I mature, I attain a measure of Christ’s fullness.

The Spirit of Life in Christ Jesus has set me free

To walk into the true fullness of God in Christ in me.

Later in the year, I recognized that God had answered my prayer, as I was inspired to pen this poetic response:

So shall you find the balanced life

Oh, let me be weighed in a just balance

and let Him weigh me,

that God may know mine integrity!

Job 31:6 [Amplified Bible]

Son,

Faithful and true,

All that you ask

I have given to you,

For the Lord weighs the spirits.

I know your deepest desire to please,

As you transform yourself by renewing your mind,

So shall you find the balanced life you seek.

It is my good pleasure to give you the Kingdom.

You have not withheld from me, so I balance your equation

And stabilize your life, as you strive to do my will.

For in the innocence of your hands and the integrity of your heart

I have found in you a perfected dwelling place where my Spirit can abide.

Many times while reflecting deeply upon the Word of God, I recall Psalm 19: 12-14 as expressed in this Christian Scripture Praise and Worship song by Esther Mui:

Tags: , , ,

Leave a Reply

