Birthday reflections: A New Song for My Father

Psalm 68--5Most often the Verse of the Day for Biblegateway.com becomes the inspiration for the blog entry at Dr. J’s Apothecary Shoppe. Today, however, June 17, 2015, marks my 73rd birthday, and this post offers reflective comments that include an original poem of celebration, a tradition that I established with my 21st birthday, long before I began to recognize the poetic gift that had begun to germinate. Most amazingly, the subject for the Verses of the Day for this week have centered on God as our Father, in light of Father’s Day, which is celebrated on the third Sunday in June. On rare occasions, Father’s Day falls on June 17, my birthday, making for a “doubly lovely, Good News Day.”

Even more providentially, the Verse of the Day for June 17, 2015 comes from Psalm 68:5, which I incorporated into the blog entry for yesterday which also related to the concept of God as a father. The same theme finds its way into my poetic birthday offering:

A New Song for My Father

In celebration of my 73rd birthday

June 17, 2015

 

Sing a new song to the Lord,
for he has done wonderful deeds.
His right hand has won a mighty victory;
his holy arm has shown his saving power!

Psalm 98:1 (NLT)

In reflecting upon these past three score years plus ten and three,

To show my deepest gratitude I will go to any length.

I will praise the Lord who has enriched my life in blessing me

With much more than a reasonable portion of health and strength.

Whenever I think of the goodness of my Father, I sing;

A song of praise rises from the deepest reaches of my soul:

A yielded life, a sacrifice poured out as an offering;

Once scarred and marred, a broken man whom God has healed and made whole.

My heart overflows, as I look back over my life and see

How way leads on to way from the first Wednesday until this birthday.

However, once again I see that the best is yet to be,

As I yearn within to express my love in another way

When the pressures of this transient life will no longer bother,

When at last I compose and sing a new song for my Father.

The title of this year’s birthday poem brings to mind one of my favorite jazz compositions with a similar title: “Song for My Father” by the late Horace Silver.

Tags: , ,

6 Responses to “Birthday reflections: A New Song for My Father”

  1. mcaldwell2011 Says:

    Happy birthday

  2. Gary Curtis Says:

    Thank you, Dr. J, and keep right on keepin’ on with this day’s great birthday and all the magnificent ones to follow. Ton frère, le Guéri

    • Dr. J Says:

      Thanks so much for the encouraging words and for the re-connection, especially on my birthday, as I reflect with fondness regarding our friendship which has deepened over the years. Love and blessing to Michele and the family.

      Tu hermano,

  3. melissa Simkins Says:

    Happy Birthday Daddy!!!! Love u!!!

Leave a Reply

