Wisdom calls after me

James-3--17

Taken from James 3:17-18 in the NIV, the Verse of the Day for May 19, 2015 lists a number of the attributes of the wisdom that descends from above:

But the wisdom that comes from heaven is first of all pure; then peace-loving, considerate, submissive, full of mercy and good fruit, impartial and sincere. Peacemakers who sow in peace reap a harvest of righteousness.

As I reflected and considered deeply this celebrated section from the Book of James, I thought of a series of blog entries entitled “Words of Wisdom.” Each post could be viewed as a prescription, a daily dose of words to the wise, often poetically and musically expressed from the Book of Proverbs.

In reviewing the comments on wisdom, a particular poem that relates to recognizing the wisdom that comes from God, came to mind: “Wisdom Calls after Me.” I am reposting the poem which was part of the blog entry “Pursuing and being pursued: reflecting on wisdom”:

Wisdom Calls after Me

Listen as Wisdom calls out!
Hear as understanding raises her voice!

Proverbs 8:1 [New Living Testament]

“Wisdom is trying to get your attention!
Understanding is screaming at you!”

Apostle Eric L. Warren

To follow Christ, I must ascend to the mountain top.

As I seek to walk in his steps, where must I begin?

Despite all obstacles that impede my progress, I will not stop.

A bold lover is relentless, as he seeks to win

His beloved’s affection, so I also pursue

Wisdom, first of all, for it is the principal thing.

The seven spirits anoint all that I say and do:

God’s good pleasure is to rejoice over me and sing.

With the fear of the Lord, here is where wisdom starts.

The spirit of the Lord in fullness shall rest upon me,

For God alone has placed wisdom in my inward parts

To enlighten my understanding and help me see:

A lover woos his beloved, calling her name;

Likewise, wisdom calls after me and does the same.

Listen to “Song of Wisdom” adapted from Proverbs, offered by Kurt Benit.

Tags: ,

Leave a Reply

