God is my defense

The Verse of the Day for March 27, 2015 provides a comforting reminder of who God is and what He provides:

Psalm 62:7 (New Living Translation)

My victory and honor come from God alone. He is my refuge, a rock where no enemy can reach me.

Throughout the Psalms we find similar exhortations. Take a look at these verses:

Psalm 59:1-2, 9-10, 16-17 (NLT):

1Rescue me from my enemies, O God.
Protect me from those who have come to destroy me.
Rescue me from these criminals;
save me from these murderers.
You are my strength; I wait for you to rescue me,
for you, O God, are my fortress.
10 In his unfailing love, my God will stand with me.
He will let me look down in triumph on all my enemies.

16 But as for me, I will sing about your power.
Each morning I will sing with joy about your unfailing love.
For you have been my refuge,
a place of safety when I am in distress.
17 O my Strength, to you I sing praises,
for you, O God, are my refuge,
the God who shows me unfailing love.

Psalm 18:1-2 NLT is also noteworthy:

[Psalm 18] [For the choir director: A psalm of David, the servant of the Lord. He sang this song to the Lord on the day the Lord rescued him from all his enemies and from Saul. He sang:] I love you, Lord; you are my strength. The Lord is my rock, my fortress, and my savior; my God is my rock, in whom I find protection. He is my shield, the power that saves me, and my place of safety.

2 Samuel 22:3 summarizes a similar expression of looking to God as a source of safety, a refuge and savior:

My God is my rock, in whom I find protection. He is my shield, the power that saves me, and my place of safety. He is my refuge, my savior, the one who saves me from violence.

Here is a personal poetic expression, an excerpt from a psalm entitled “A Prayer to Know the Fullness of Your Grace”:

Protect Me

As a child runs to safety in his father’s arms,

So I, too, run to you, “my shelter from life’s storms.”

Lord, I long to dwell with you in the secret place,

My buckler, my shield, deliverer, my fortress,

Strong tower, defender, who responds to my prayer.

For Lord, you are faithful, who will establish me

And protect me and deliver me from evil.

We close this entry with Esther Mui offering a musical rendition of selected verses from Psalm 59 as a Christian Scripture Worship song “God is My Defense.”

Tags: , , ,

3 Responses to “God is my defense”

  1. The Heart of it All Says:

    Love all the scripture and unity is such an important message for today!

Leave a Reply

