A no want state

James 1--2-3

James 1:2-3 NLT

[Faith and Endurance] Dear brothers and sisters, when troubles of any kind come your way, consider it an opportunity for great joy. For you know that when your faith is tested, your endurance has a chance to grow.

The Verse of the Day for January 20, 2015 brings to mind that as we wait on the Lord, we are not to waiting in a state of anxiety, not in a state of doubt or fear, as we encounter fiery trials. Instead, the state in which we wait is the state of patience—we are patiently waiting. Not too long ago, I heard a message entitled “A No Want State,” a life-altering teaching related to James 1:2-4.

As I was reflecting upon verse 2 I thought of the whole idea of trials as tests, as I recalled a poem that I wrote from the perspective of a “student/teacher”

All Tests

“Consider it a sheer gift, friends, when tests and

Challenges come at you from all sides.” [The Message]

James 1:2

 

With zeal I make my calling and election sure,

As I attempt to complete yet another test.

Ever the eager student, I will do my best.

You promised good to me, your Word my hope secure.

Search me and know me—discern that my motives are pure.

My soul now anchored in hope; in you I find rest.

You are my light, even when times seem their darkest.

As a patient father who seeks to reassure

His son, so the Master Teacher shows His design:

All tests are formed not to punish but to refine.

Despite shortcomings and failures that I have made,

You are gracious and generous each time you grade.

With each assignment, I seek to excel, not just pass,

To graduate with honors, the first in my class.

As we encounter all kinds of fiery trials we as we wait on the Lord, we are not to waiting in a state of anxiety, not in a state of doubt or fear, but we strive to situate ourselves where we are perfect and entire, wanting nothing—in a “no want state,” the title of this poem that opens with the section of scriptures from James 1:2-4:

 My brethren, count it all joy when ye fall into divers temptations;

Knowing this, that the trying of your faith worketh patience.

But let patience have her perfect work, that ye may be perfect and entire, wanting nothing.

 

“A No Want State”

James 1:2-4

Right now I am striving to arrive at a “no want state,”

A place of assurance that God alone is in control

In my zeal to please God, I learn to labor and to wait

While still running to serving the Lord as my life’s highest goal.

Pressed by enemies that seek to steal, kill, and to destroy,

My ability to trust God is once more put to the test

In every fiery trial I trust God and count it all joy,

Especially in the midst of great turmoil and unrest.

God knows where I am at this time; nothing is by chance.

He has given freely of His spirit that I might know

In Christ I prevail despite any adverse circumstance.

When my faith is tested, my endurance will also grow.

As I yield to patience and allow her to have her way,

I am perfected to stay the course and trust and obey.

 

Hebrews 10:36 also offers this reminder in the New Living Translation:

Patient endurance is what you need now, so that you will continue to do God’s will. Then you will receive all that he has promised.

Knowing this, we can count it all joy when we encounter various fiery trials that test our faith and build patient endurance.

The Winans offer this reminder to “Count it all Joy.”

Tags: , , ,

2 Responses to “A no want state”

  1. joynershajuan Says:

    What an awesome topic for many of us who struggle with our new year’s resolutions/new promises! I’m sure that we all find it difficult to stick to the new habits we plan to emulate. However, change can happen.
    Thank you, God bless.

    • Dr. J Says:

      Great to know that this ministered to you. God is always teaching me, and what He shares with me, many times has application to others as well.

      Thanks for stopping by the “Shoppe”

      Dad/Dr. J

Leave a Reply

