John 14:1-3–Bright mansions above

John-14-1-3

Taken from John 14:1-3 in the New Living Translation, the Verse of the Day for December 29, 2014 is a familiar passage that expresses great comfort:

“Don’t let your hearts be troubled. Trust in God, and trust also in me. There is more than enough room in my Father’s home. If this were not so, would I have told you that I am going to prepare a place for you? When everything is ready, I will come and get you, so that you will always be with me where I am.

This particular passage in the King James Version I have recited or heard someone else read these words so many times at a funeral or “homegoing” service for a friend of family member.

Let not your heart be troubled:

You believe in God, believe also in me.

In my Father’s house are many mansions:

If it were not so, I would have told you.

I go to prepare a place for you.

And if I go and prepare a place for you,

I will come again,

And receive you unto myself;

That where I am, there you may be also.

In thinking about those “bright mansions above,” I recall the lyrics to a gospel song regarding the dwelling place that God has prepared for us: “A Building not Made with Man’s Hands.” Those lyrics were the inspiration for a poem that included a reference to the opening verses John 14:

Not Made by Man’s Hands

Lord, keep my day by day,
in a pure and perfect way.
I want to live, I want to live on
in a building not made by hand.

Traditional gospel song

 

I recall the poignant words of the Lord Jesus Christ,

Words of the Bridegroom to reassure his Beloved:

“I go to prepare a place for you, that where I am

There you may be also, and if I go and prepare

A place for you, I will come again and receive you

Unto myself that where I am, you may be also.”

Though my dwelling place is furnished just to my tastes,

Will I need an office where I can compose my thoughts?

Is there a kitchen for me to prepare meals that bless?

Or will you make your servants sit down and enjoy

Sumptuous feasts prepared to satisfy the appetites

Of those who hunger and thirst for more than food or drink?

I know I will enjoy my custom-crafted mansion,

Exquisite design from God’s mind, not made by man’s hands.

 

WP Choral Singers offer a moving rendition of the traditional spiritual “In Bright Mansions Above.”

Tags: , ,

Leave a Reply

