The Counsel of the Lord

Proverbs 19--21

The Verse of the Day for October 10, 2014 comes from Proverbs 19:20-21 (KJV):

Hear counsel, and receive instruction, that thou mayest be wise in thy latter end. There are many devices in a man’s heart; nevertheless the counsel of the Lord, that shall stand.

We find a similar reminder related to the counsel of the Lord in Isaiah 46:9-10:

Remember the former things of old: for I am God and there is none else; I am God, and there is none like me,

Declaring the end from the beginning, and from ancient times the things that are not yet done, saying My counsel shall stand, and I will do all my pleasure:

In Isaiah 11:2 and elsewhere in the Bible we find a reference to the Seven Spirits of God, one of which is the “the spirit of counsel”:

And the spirit of the LORD shall rest upon him,

the spirit of wisdom and understanding,

the spirit of counsel and might, the spirit of knowledge

and of the fear of the LORD;

Apostle Eric L. Warren’s most enlightening book The Seven Spirits of God: Learning to Walk in the Dominion and Authority of Christ provides an in-depth discussion of this vitally important and relevant concept.

In reflecting on this particular aspect of the seven spirits of God, the spirit of counsel, I was inspired to write this poem:                                          

The Counsel of the Lord

The counsel of the LORD stands for ever,

the thoughts of his heart to all generations.

Psalm 33:11 KJV

 

As your will unfolds in splendid epiphany

And you speak life, open my ears that I might hear.

I seek guidance for the days ahead; draw me near,

Provide clear direction for the paths before me.

Advise and counsel me to help others to see

That to walk in perfect love is to cast out fear,

To follow the precepts of all that you hold dear.

I will make known your purpose and boldly declare

The truth and seek wise counsel that I might fulfill

My commitment to serve each day as I prepare

The way of Lord, centered in your perfect will.

Though I am beset by trials on every hand,

I will abide in your presence, yielded and still:

The counsel of the Lord forevermore shall stand.

 

The hymn, “Behold, Our God” makes reference to the counsel of the God, the topic of the Verse of the Day:

Tags: , , , , , ,

Leave a Reply

