Lovingkindness and songs in the night

                                               Psalm 42_8

The Verse of the Day for August 21, 2014 is found in Psalm 42:8 (KJV):

Yet the Lord will command his lovingkindness in the day time, and in the night his song shall be with me, and my prayer unto the God of my life.

Translated from the Hebrew word chesed, the term lovingkindness is used 26 times in the Old Testament. In addition, the word has been translated “kindness,” “mercy,” “loyalty,” “steadfast love” and “compassion,” even “goodness.” with the word occurring 21 times in the Book of Psalms, four times in Jeremiah and once in Hosea: In most instances the Psalmist refers to an attribute of God with references to “thy lovingkindness” or “my lovingkindness” or the lovingkindness of the Lord. The following notable illustrations speak of God’s lovingkindness that gives life and rescues from the grave:

Psalm 63:3

Because thy lovingkindness is better than life, my lips shall praise thee.

Psalm 88:11

Shall thy lovingkindness be declared in the grave? or thy faithfulness in destruction?

The familiar verse found in Psalm 103:4 speaks of the Lord

Who redeemeth thy life from destruction; who crowneth thee with lovingkindness and tender mercies;

Psalm 119:88 offers a request:

Quicken me after thy lovingkindness; so shall I keep the testimony of thy mouth.

A similar petition is revealed in Psalm 119:149

Hear my voice according unto thy lovingkindness: O Lord, quicken me according to thy judgment.

Hosea 2:19 speaks of the enduring relationship that God establishes with His people:

And I will betroth thee unto me forever; yea, I will betroth thee unto me in righteousness, and in judgment, and in lovingkindness, and in mercies.

In addition to the declaration of God’s lovingkindness during the day, the latter part of Psalm 42:8 refers to “his song” which shall be with me in the night. In the Book of Job we find a reference to “God, my maker, who gives songs in the night,” while Psalm 77:6 makes a similar reference:

I call to remembrance my song in the night: I commune with mine own heart: and my spirit made diligent search.

Isaiah 30:29 also describes such a special song:

Ye shall have a song, as in the night when a holy solemnity is kept; and gladness of heart, as when one goeth with a pipe to come into the mountain of the Lord, to the mighty One of Israel.

The expression brings to mind this original song:

 Songs in the Night

 

Though the battle is long

And opponents seem so strong

And everything you do seems to always turn out wrong,

At your point of need, God is faithful and true.

God will encourage your heart and strengthen you,

He will lengthen your courage and see you through.

You are not alone; God remembers His own.

God will give. . .God still gives songs in the night.

 

Songs in the night to brighten the road.

Songs in the night to lighten the load.

Songs in the night to comfort and assure,

To uphold you and to help you to endure.

You are not alone; God remembers His own.

God will give. . . Yes, God still gives songs in the night.

The Maranatha Singers offer “Thy Loving Kindness” based on Psalm 63:3

The Concordia Choir provides a moving rendition of “My Song in the Night”:

Tags: , , , , , , , , , ,

Leave a Reply

