The Word gives light

Psalm-119--130 2

On August 5, 2014 the Verse of the Day is taken from Psalm 119:130 (KJV):

The entrance of thy words giveth light; it giveth understanding unto the simple.

The Amplified Bible renders the verse in this way:

130 The entrance and unfolding of Your words give light; their unfolding gives understanding (discernment and comprehension) to the simple.

The term “simple” is sometimes viewed in a negative way. It is, however, not a pejorative adjective, in that it refers to being naïve, or inexperienced, uninitiated or innocent or guileless. Some might view this quality in a favorable light, as the Shaker hymn states, “Tis a gift to be simple.”

The Psalmist also makes known that “The law of the Lord is perfect, converting the soul: the testimony of the Lord is sure, making wise the simple (Psalm 19:7).

In Proverbs 21:11 the simple learns from the mistakes of others, expressed this way in the book devoted to unfolding the wisdom of God:

When the scorner is punished, the simple is made wise: and when the wise is instructed, he receiveth knowledge.

In the New Testament, the term simple is used in Romans 16:19:

For your obedience is come abroad unto all men. I am glad therefore on your behalf: but yet I would have you wise unto that which is good, and simple concerning evil.

Note how the verse is rendered in the Amplified Bible:

19 For while your loyalty and obedience is known to all, so that I rejoice over you, I would have you well versed and wise as to what is good and innocent and guileless as to what is evil.

Joan Taylor refers to Psalm 119:130 and other scriptures in “The Lord is My Light”:

psalm 119 105-new

 

Another verse in Psalms also refers to the Word of God as light in the familiar metaphor found in Psalm 119:105:

Thy word is a lamp unto my feet, and a light unto my path.

This particular verse was the inspiration for one of the first scripture memory songs that I ever composed with the following lyrics:

God’s Word is a lamp, a lamp unto my feet.

God’s Word is a lamp, a lamp unto my feet.

God’s Word is a lamp, a lamp unto my feet.

And a light unto my path.

 

When I am in the dark

And cannot find my way,

I open up the Bible

To see what God will say.

I look and find the answer,

And then I gladly obey.

 

God’s Word is a lamp, a lamp unto my feet.

God’s Word is a lamp, a lamp unto my feet.

God’s Word is a lamp, a lamp unto my feet.

And a light unto my path.

 

When you have a problem,

And you don’t know what to do,

Just open up the Bible

See what God says to you.

Just look and find the answer.

Ask yourself, “What would Jesus do?”

 

God’s Word is a lamp, a lamp unto my feet.

God’s Word is a lamp, a lamp unto my feet.

God’s Word is a lamp, a lamp unto my feet.

And a light unto my path.

 

“God’s Word Is a Lamp” expresses a child-like simplicity and naiveté that delights God.

Psalm 119:105 is the inspiration for this beautiful worship composition “Lamp unto My Feet” by Hillsong

Amy Grant also offers another song: “Thy Word is a Lamp unto My feet.

Tags: , , , , , , , ,

Leave a Reply

