Beyond hyssop: “I plead the blood”

Psalms-51--7

Recently I underwent an alternative medical therapy known as a colonic or colon cleansing. This form of colon hydrotherapy involves using water which is introduced into the colon via the rectum in order to flush toxins from the colon and intestinal tract. After having undergone this internal cleansing process, I thought of a poem that I had written a number of years ago which I revised and further personalized to fit this recent experience.

Beyond Hyssop

Purge me with hyssop, and I shall be clean:

wash me, and I shall be whiter than snow.

Psalm 51:7

 

Can any stalks of hyssop purify my leprous soul?

Can they daub with precious lamb’s blood the lintels of this house?

Where are the purgatives to cleanse and balms to me make whole

When the passions of my sinful flesh surface and arouse

My senses with flames rekindled from those carnal embers?

Can I be made clean once more, as I wrestle this body

Of death each day and seek to beat back my mortal members?

Though hyssop may flush my rancid soul of iniquity,

Beyond the strength of this remedy is life-giving blood

Of the Lord Jesus, ultimate, unblemished sacrifice

Sent from the bosom of the Father, who alone is good.

Such a costly prescription is far beyond any price.

Truly this balm in Gilead has healed my wounded soul,

Deeply cleansed me from within, and his blood has made whole.

 

The poem refers to the “life-giving blood of the Lord Jesus,” and concludes with this statement: “. . . and his blood has made me whole.” As I reflected upon the power, the “wonder-working power in the precious blood of the Lamb,” I recalled an occasion when I was battling the flu and had gone to the doctor. I returned home and immediately went to bed after having taken the prescribed medication. A couple of days later as I began to recover, I learned that a minister from Louisiana was ministering in a nearby city, and I mustered up the strength to go hear him. Fortunately I went with a group of believers, and I did not have to drive.

The minister, whose name I cannot recall, taught on the blood that Jesus Christ shed and related the seven times that the Lord shed his blood. For me it was a life-changing message, the principles of which I applied immediately, and subsequently I have come to a greater understanding of what it means to “plead the blood.”

Revelation_12-11

Although that specific term is not used in the Bible, the expression is often used by Christian believers. Dele Oke in an issue of the Living Word discusses “pleading the blood”:

“Pleading the blood simply means applying the blood to our life and circumstances just like the Israelites applied it to their door posts and were protected from the destroyer (Exodus 12).

Pleading the blood is simply the taking hold of the authority and power available to us by the death and resurrection of Jesus.

Pastor John Chappell III goes on to explain:

“To ‘Plead the Blood; of Jesus means to appropriate, apply, declare, proclaim, and put your trust in the competed work of His shed Blood. Use whichever words you are comfortable with. However, the expression, “In Jesus’ Name, I plead the Blood” (over my daughter, my husband, my mother, over Mary, over my pastor) is powerful.

‘Pleading the Blood’ provides total provision for every need, including protection; divine healing, and financial needs, healing of relationships, inner healing, deliverance, wisdom, and spiritual eyesight.”

The original teaching that I heard inspired this song which captures the essence of the message:

I Plead the Blood

I plead the blood. I plead the blood. I plead the blood over my life.

Jesus bled seven times and shed His blood for me

That I might triumph and walk forth in perfected victory.

I plead the blood.

 

Refrain:

I plead the blood.

I plead the blood.

I plead the blood over my life.

 

He freed me from sin and every disease with sweat and blood He shed for me.

I plead the blood.

 

Repeat Refrain

 

His face was beaten more than any man so I could sense the presence of God.

I plead the blood.

 

Repeat Refrain

 

He cancelled each curse and negative word and banished affliction and strife.

I plead the blood.

 

Repeat Refrain

 

Jesus was wounded when they tore His flesh; by His stripes I am truly healed.

I plead the blood.

 

Repeat Refrain

 

When they nailed His hands, and He shed His blood, He blessed all the works of my hands.

I plead the blood.

 

Repeat Refrain

 

The nails in His feet gave me the victory wherever the soles of my feet shall tread.

I plead the blood.

 

Repeat Refrain

When they pierced His side, blood and water flowed: God accepted and sent the Paraclete to help.

That’s why I plead the blood.

 

I plead the blood.

I plead the blood.

I plead the blood over my life.

Jesus bled seven times and shed His blood for me

That I might triumph and walk forth in perfected victory.

I plead the blood.

 

The last line of “Beyond Hyssop” echoes the closing lyrics of “Oh, It is Jesus,” offered here by Andrae Crouch:

Tags: , , , , ,

2 Responses to “Beyond hyssop: “I plead the blood””

  1. tonlisbak Says:

    Dr.J,
    i still follow your blog and am inspired by your poetry! I will be graduating from the Associate’s program from IWU on Saturday. I think of our class, the “Fabulous Five” and the special blessings you gave us (lagniappe). Hoping you are well and that the therapy you spoke about is successful.
    With blessings,

    Lisa Baker

    • Dr. J Says:

      Thanks for the kind words and expression of your warm regards for my well being. For the Lord is good, and His mercy endures forever.

      Dr. J

Leave a Reply

