Birthday reflections from a father

Psalm-68 4

Sing unto God, sing praises to his name: extol him that rideth upon the heavens by his name Jah, and rejoice before him. A father of the fatherless, and a judge of the widows, is God in his holy habitation. Psalm 68:4-5 KJV

The Verse of the Day for June 17, 2014 is another verse related to God as a father. In this case he is a father to those who have no father. Indeed, the absence of fathers or fatherlessness is beyond crisis stage, not only in America but around the world. Statistics clearly reveal the devastating consequences of fatherlessness which impacts society, in terms of the resulting poverty and the health and emotional challenges suffered by children from fatherless homes. God has been and continues to be deeply concerned about those who have no fathers. And that “God sets the solitary in families:” Yes, indeed, God is very concerned about fathers and the state of fatherhood in the world today.

This is a special week in that it contains two occasions to celebrate Father’s Day and my birthday which today.

Usually on my birthday I write a poem of celebration. This tradition goes back to the first time that I consciously took upon myself the mantle of an occasional poet—meaning that I consciously determined to write a poem for a specific occasion. The first occasion that I remember writing a poem for was my 21st birthday when I composed this short piece:

Upon Turning Twenty-one

 

The day came and went,

but felt no different—

a day like any other,

yet why so much significance.

This special date:

June 17, 1963

Should mean so much to me,

But I felt as I did at seventeen.

Was I then a man or am I yet to be?

 

Today, I as I reflected upon my first poetic attempt and beyond, I composed this poem of celebration:

 Now is the Yet to Be

“. . . the coming of the Lord Jesus Christ is what motivates you to serve

and continue to be faithful.

Christological Astronomy Profile Worksheet for Lonnell Johnson

Dr. Dale Sides

 

Abiding in His presence and overwhelmed by God’s favor,

Still compounding after the art of the apothecary

The precious anointing oil, my life a sweet smelling savor.

I reflect with gratitude and offer this commentary.

A new dawn emerged on this day seventy-two years ago,

As planets converged in Taurus; Cancer rose to battle Mars.

God makes known His will and shows His desire that I might know.

I look up, as the Eastern sky unfolds: witness of the stars,

And I see clearly once more that now is the yet to be.

I continue to stand strong in the power of His might,

As past, present, and future merge into eternity.

I press toward the mark for the prize, as I still fight the good fight.

Walking hand in hand with God toward the place of my destiny,

The hope of Christ’s return still undergirds and motivates me.

 

Tags: , , ,

Leave a Reply

