Do I put my trust: Five songs of trust

Psalm-56 4

The Verse of the Day for May 30, 2014 makes this bold declaration:

Psalm 56:4

In God I will praise his word, in God I have put my trust; I will not fear what flesh can do unto me.

The Amplified Bible offers this rendering:

By [the help of] God I will praise His word; on God I lean, rely, and confidently put my trust; I will not fear. What can man, who is flesh, do to me?

Verse 11 of Psalm 56 reiterates the same point:

11 In God have I put my trust and confident reliance; I will not be afraid. What can man do to me?

Indeed, some variation of the expression “do I put my trust” is used throughout the Psalms in Psalm 7:1, 16:1, 31:1, and 71:1

I recall that on occasions when my father would be asked to bless the food before our family shared a meal together, he would say, “In thee, O Lord, do I put my trust,” the first part of Psalm 31:1:

In thee, O Lord, do I put my trust; let me never be ashamed: deliver me in thy righteousness.

The Psalmist also makes known that it is better to trust in the Lord than to put confidence in man. As I turn from my former position of totally depending upon myself and others, I learn to put my trust in God. In thinking about trust, I developed an acrostic that expresses the essence of what it means to trust or to have trust, which is spelled T-R-U-S-T:

I proclaim that I will maintain a “Triumphant attitude” with “Rugged determination” and “Unswerving commitment,” as I further develop “Strengthened believing” and “Tremendous confidence.”

“I Am Trusting Thee, Lord Jesus”

The Verse of the Day also brought to mind five songs related to “trusting God.” The first one is “I Am Trusting Thee, Lord Jesus,” a hymn that I was introduced to a week or so before I was married more than forty years ago. As we were driving toward our first ministry assignment, the lyrics rang in my head.

I recognize and declare the truth of these lyrics that continue to remind me that: “I Am Trusting Thee Lord Jesus”:

Here is a rendering of the hymn by the Lutheran Quartet:

“Trusting Jesus”

Recently I discovered another 19th Century hymn “Trusting Jesus” with the memorable line “Trusting Jesus, that is all.” Here is video of this a capella hymn rendered as sacred harp singing or shape note singing recorded at Mount Pisgah in Stroud, AL, May 24, 2008. Harp singing or shape note singing dates back to the colonial period and continues to enjoy popularity in the rural South and elsewhere.

Edgar P. Stites wrote the lyrics, and Ira D. Sankey provided the music:

Simply trusting every day,
Trusting through a stormy way;
Even when my faith is small,
Trusting Jesus, that is all.

Refrain:
Trusting as the moments fly,
Trusting as the days go by;
Trusting Him whate’er befall,
Trusting Jesus, that is all.

Brightly doth His Spirit shine
Into this poor heart of mine;
While He leads I cannot fall;
Trusting Jesus, that is all.

Singing if my way is clear,
Praying if the path be drear;
If in danger for Him call;
Trusting Jesus, that is all.

Trusting Him while life shall last,
Trusting Him till earth be past;
Till within the jasper wall,
Trusting Jesus, that is all.

“Tis So Sweet to Trust in Jesus.”

One of the most popular hymns of all times relates to trust: Tis So Sweet to Trust in Jesus.” This recording features the Altar of Faith Men’s Chorale:

“I Will Trust in You”

The next song of trust is a contemporary song of worship written and performed by Gary Oliver: “I will trust in you”

“I Trust You”

The final song is another contemporary gospel song that has come to mean a great deal to me: “I Trust You” by James Fortune and Fiya.

These five songs of trust reinforce the message that “In God I will praise his word, in God I have put my trust; I will not fear what flesh can do unto me.”

Tags: , , , , , , , ,

Leave a Reply

