The forgiving Father receives the Prodigal Son

Rembrandt's Return_of_the_Prodigal_Son

Luke 19_10

As I reflected upon the Verse of the Day for April 27, 2014, I thought of three parables of “lost” items recorded in Luke 15: “The Parable of the Lost Sheep” –Luke 15:3-7; “The Parable of the Lost Coin”—Luke 15:8-10 and “The Parable of the Prodigal Son”—Luke 15:11-32. I recall seeing for the first time the Rembrandt portrait of the “Return of the Prodigal Son” which moved me in a most remarkable manner. That particular parable is a favorite of mine, and I have personalized and poetically expressed my identification with the Prodigal Son, who is impacted and forever changed by the compassion of his “Forgiving Father,” the “Real Hero” of the passage. Each time I read this account, I think of this poetic rendering:

 Homecoming

The Parable of the Prodigal Son

Luke 15:11-32

 

I prodigalled

and partied

and boogied my

nights away.

 

I humped and bumped

and stumbled

till I found myself

in a ditch.

 

I squandered all

of my bread,

down to my

very last crumb.

 

I had no friends

to turn to

I had no place to go

but home.

 

I tried to sneak back

unnoticed,

but Daddy ran

to meet me

and greet me with

open arms

(like I’d been down

the road apiece,

or just got

back from town,

or never been

gone at all).

 

He didn’t ask me

where I’d been,

didn’t ask how

much I’d spent.

 

He forgave me,

just forgot

all the times I’d

plumb missed the mark.

 

He spread the

welcome table

and had a

family feast

to satisfy

my hunger

and meet my

every need.

 

Later on in the

midnight peace

when Pa and I

were alone,

we said nothing,

yet so much;

then through tears

of joy he said,

 

“It’s all right, son–

it’s all right, now.”

The song that comes to mind in thinking about “that which was lost” is the ever-popular “Amazing Grace” with the opening stanza:

 Amazing grace, how sweet the sound

That saved a wretch like me.

I once was lost, but now I’m found.

Was blind but now I see.

Recorded countless times, without a doubt “Amazing Grace” has become one of the most recognized musical compositions in the English language. Listen as Wintley Phipps gives the history of song and closes with an unforgettable rendition of the most popular hymn of all time.

Tags: , , , , , , ,

Leave a Reply

