The Lord is my shepherd: The good shepherd

The accompanying painting by 19th Century German artist Bernard Plockhorst depicts the Good Shepherd whose sheep follow Him willingly and eagerly because he is willing to do anything for their well being, even if it means laying down his own life.

The accompanying painting by 19th Century German artist Bernard Plockhorst depicts the Good Shepherd whose sheep follow Him willingly and eagerly because he is willing to do anything for their well being, even if it means laying down his own life.

The Verse of the Day for March 17, 2014 is taken from the first three verses of the 23rd Psalm in the King James Version:

The Lord is my shepherd; I shall not want. He maketh me to lie down in green pastures: he leadeth me beside the still waters. He restoreth my soul: he leadeth me in the paths of righteousness for his name’s sake.

Jesus Christ refers to himself as “the good shepherd” in a couple of instances in the Gospel of John, with this being the second of seven metaphors that the Savior uses. Jesus states, “I am the good Shepherd. The good shepherd lays down his life for the sheep.” This indicates that the shepherd is fully committed to his sheep and consequently has their full trust. In the “sheepfold discourse” in John 10, we find another reference to “the good shepherd:” “I am the good shepherd; and I know my sheep, and am known by my own.

Some of the specific qualities of “the good shepherd” can be found in Psalm 23, one of the most recognized and recited passages in the Old Testament:

The Lord is my shepherd; I shall not want.
He makes me to lie down in green pastures; He leads me beside the still waters.
 He restores my soul; He leads me in the paths of righteousness for His name’s sake.

 Yea, though I walk through the valley of the shadow of death,
I will fear no evil; for You are with me;
Your rod and Your staff, they comfort me.

 You prepare a table before me in the presence of my enemies;
You anoint my head with oil; my cup runs over.
 Surely goodness and mercy shall follow me all the days of my life;
And I will dwell in the house of the Lord forever.


Jeff Majors offers this moving, vocal rendering of the 23rd Psalm accompanied on the harp.

Tags: , , , , ,

Leave a Reply

