A Prayer for Patience

But the fruit of the Spirit is love, joy, peace, longsuffering, gentleness, goodness, faith, Meekness, temperance: against such there is no law. Galatians 5:22-23

In thinking about the nine fruit of the spirit listed in the passage that is the Verse of the Day for March 19, 2014, I realize that one of those fruit seems to be in season for me. In a previous blog entry, I talk about one particular fruit of the spirit and that is longsuffering or patience. The entry “A Prayer for Patience” is re-posted here:

James 1--2-3

The Verse of the Day for January 20, 2014 brings to mind that as we wait on the Lord, we are not to waiting in a state of anxiety, not in a state of doubt or fear, as we encounter fiery trials.  Instead, the state in which we wait is the state of patience—we are patiently waiting. I recently came across this poem that I wrote as related to this important fruit of the Spirit:

A Prayer for Patience

“My suggestion for people in a season of birth or upgrade   

is to write out a prayer for patience and pray it every day.”  

Graham Cooke


For you have need of steadfast patience and endurance,

so that you may perform and fully accomplish the will of God,

and thus receive and carry away [and enjoy to the full] what is promised.

Hebrews 10:36 (Amplified Bible)

I look back and pause and then look ahead to see

Clearly who God is, who He wants to be for me.

I still journey down the road less traveled by

And pray that patience may serve as a trusted ally.

I must say “No” to the pressures of this life

And say “Yes” to the rest God gives, despite the strife.

As I stay my mind on Him, I abide in peace.

When I praise God, works of the enemy decrease.

May I remain and not fall by the wayside as some

But like Job wait until at last my change shall come.

Patient endurance seems delayed for some reason,

But fruit abounds to those who wait in their season.

I pray that in this time of transition and shift

That I embrace waiting as a wonderful gift.

Hebrews 10:36 also offers this reminder in the New Living Translation:

Patient endurance is what you need now, so that you will continue to do God’s will. Then you will receive all that he has promised.

Knowing this, we can count it all joy when we encounter various fiery trials that test our faith and build patient endurance.

The Winans offers this musical reminder to “Count it All Joy.”

Tags: , , , , , , , , ,

4 Responses to “A Prayer for Patience”

  1. Richard L Rice Says:

    “Count it all joy when you fall into various trials, knowing that the testing of your faith produces patience” (James 1:2-3).

    Knowing that God uses trials to build and perfect patience within me is something I pray for with great awe and trepidation.

  2. Dr. J Says:

    Certainly that is true, Richard. I recall the old saying, “Be careful what you pray for; you might just get what you’re asking for.” But then again, aren’t we expecting to receive what we ask for? I guess we’ll have to exercise patience while we’re waiting for the patience we asked for. Thanks for taking the time to comment.

    Dr. J

  3. edythe jones Says:

    Hey Dr. J, I have learned that I don’t have to be careful what I pray for, God is too kind to give me more than what I can bear. I have learned, that I need to not be weary or anxious after I pray, to trust in God and know that He already knows what I am in need of and when I am ready to receive it. I miss your words of wisdom and I embrace the reconnect.

  4. Dr. J Says:

    God bless you, Edythe,

    Thanks for taking the time to leave a comment at Dr. J’s Apothecary Shoppe.

    So good to reconnect, as you said.

    Dr. J

Leave a Reply

