In my Father’s house: No mirrors

The familiar passage from John 14 brought to mind thoughts about heavenly mansions.

The familiar passage from John 14 brought to mind thoughts about mirrors in our Father’s house.

The Verse of the Day for December 29, 2013 is a familiar passage from John 14:1-3:

Let not your heart be troubled: ye believe in God, believe also in me.

In my Father’s house are many mansions: if it were not so, I would have told you. I go to prepare a place for you.

And if I go and prepare a place for you, I will come again, and receive you unto myself; that where I am, there ye may be also.

How many times have I recited or heard recited this celebrated passage from John 14 at a funeral or “homegoing” service for a friend of family member. The reference to “my Father’s house” brought to mind a song performed by one of my favorite a capella musical groups, Sweet Honey in the Rock, who sings of about “My Nana’s House.” The group offers a poignant rendering of a song written by Ysaye Barnwell, “No Mirrors in My Nana’s House” recorded on Nick JR:

The song caused me to think that if there are no mirrors in “my Nana’s house,” surely there are no mirrors in “my Father’s house.” In thinking about those “bright mansions above,” I pondered, “Will there be any mirrors in heaven?” My thoughts led to this poetic response:

No Mirrors in Heaven

Turn your eyes upon Jesus,

Look full into his wonderful face

And the things of earth will grow strangely dim

In the light of his glory and grace.

Traditional Gospel Song

 

But we all, with open face beholding as in a glass the glory of the Lord,

are changed into the same image from glory to glory,

even as by the Spirit of the Lord.

2 Corinthians 3:18

 

The eighth day lies beyond the perfection of seven

With this startling discovery: no mirrors in heaven.

We will not have time to indulge in vanity

When we see ourselves as we were designed to be

In the eyes of the savior when we behold his visage

And see ourselves fashioned like unto Christ’s glorious image.

The wisdom and power of God no one can deny

When we are released from the quarters of the butterfly

To behold full-face the splendor of the Savior:

One glimpse reveals the value of godly behavior.

When the good pleasure of His will has been fully shown,

Then shall we know, even as we are also known,

Transformed from mortal into immortality

To view the fullness of Christ in you and Christ in me.

Colossians-1-27

The closing line of the poem also brings to mind a passage of scripture that has long been particularly meaningful to me: Colossians 1:25-27

Whereof I am made a minister, according to the dispensation of God which is given to me for you, to fulfill the word of God;

Even the mystery which hath been hid from ages and from generations, but now is made manifest to his saints:

To whom God would make known what are the riches of the glory of this mystery among the Gentiles; which is Christ in you, the hope of glory:

This particular passage was the inspiration for the lyrics to an original song:

Christ in You, Christ in Me

Even before the world began,

God put together His master plan,

Calling Jews and Gentiles into one body,

The riches of the glory of this mystery

Which is Christ in you, the hope of glory,

Christ in you, the hope of glory,

Christ in you, the hope of glory.

 

Enlighten my eyes, help me to see

All that you have called me to be.

Share with me the secrets that you have for me,

The riches of the glory of this mystery

Which is Christ in me, the hope of glory

Christ in me, the hope of glory,

Christ in me, the hope of glory.

 

Put on God’s Word, renew your mind.

Seek Him with your whole heart, and you will find

He’ll open your eyes; He’ll let you see

The riches of the glory of this mystery

Which is Christ in you, the hope of glory

Christ in you, the hope of glory,

Christ in you, the hope of glory.

 

I’m no longer bound; I’ve been set free.

I once was so blind, but now I see.

I’m walking into my destiny:

The riches of the glory of this mystery

Which is Christ in me, the hope of glory

Christ in me, the hope of glory,

Christ in me the hope of glory.

 

Christ in you, the hope of glory,

Christ in you, the hope of glory,

Christ in you, the hope of glory.

 

Christ in me, the hope of glory,

Christ in me, the hope of glory,

Christ in me, the hope of glory.

Here is another musical composition, Christ in You the Hope of Glory Song

Campaign Kerusso

The Verse of the Day from John 14 caused me to set my affections on things above.

Tags: , , , ,

Leave a Reply

