Psalm 1: The first word

Psalm 1 3

The Verse of the Day for November 19, 2013, is found in the first two verses of the First Psalm:

Blessed is the man that walketh not in the counsel of the ungodly, nor standeth in the way of sinners, nor sitteth in the seat of the scornful. But his delight is in the law of the Lord; and in his law doth he meditate day and night.

When I think of the First Psalm, I recall the first passage of scripture I ever committed to memory. More than 60 years ago, back in the day, in what we called “junior high school,” I remember that Mrs. Little, the local undertaker’s wife, gathered kids from the neighborhood and told us to memorize Psalm 1, which I did and still recall by heart to this day.

Listen to the musical accompaniment, as you read the Psalm 1 in the King James Version, the version which I memorized:

About seven years ago, Apostle John Tetsola commented about the power of “The First Word” and his remarks inspired this poem which makes reference to the First Psalm, the “First Word” for me:

The First Word                                    

When you’re in a difficult situation,

go back to ‘the first word.’ It still works.

Apostle John Tetsola

Though only a child, I heard the word of the Lord.

Just like Samuel, I clearly heard God speak to me:

I still remember the power of “the first word.”

The desire to read and to learn by heart God’s Word:

Planted deep within my soul seeds of destiny.

Though only a child, I heard the word of the Lord.

Early years of famine and drought God has restored.

My Shepherd ever sets a table before me.

I still remember the power of “the first word.”

From an early age God became my shield and sword,

As the Psalms enflamed a passion for poetry.

Though only a child, I heard the word of the Lord.

The sound words of the First Psalm could not be ignored:

“Planted by the rivers of waters, like a tree. . .”

I still remember the power of “the first word.”

Striving toward the finish, ever pressing forward,

I now fondly recall glimpses of God’s glory.

Though only a child, I heard the word of the Lord:

I still remember the power of “the first word.”

Kim Hill offers this musical rendering of the First Psalm:

The Verse of the Day floods my mind with fond memories of the power of “the First Word.”

Tags: , , ,

3 Responses to “Psalm 1: The first word”

  1. Richard L Rice Says:

    I, too, love this Psalm. I had to memorize it as a child – in the good ol’ King James too. It’s a passage I’ve never forgotten, as I have so many others. Many mornings I’ll lie in bed, repeat it phrase by phrase, meditating on each one, and praying that it be true of me this day.

    Thank you dear brother!

    • Dr. J Says:

      Without a doubt the First Psalm has been imprinted deeply within my soul. Like you, I recite it and see myself as that blessed man.

      Thanks for sharing, Good Brother.

  2. Richard L Rice Says:

    Reblogged this on Where Living Begins.

Leave a Reply

