Psalm 119: 105–A lamp unto my feet

psalm 119 105

The Verse of the Day for November 17, 2013 is taken from Psalm 119, the longest chapter in the Bible. Another the unique aspect of this particular Psalm is its reference to the Word of God in every verse, employing such synonyms as “statues, Law, judgments, precepts, etc. One of the most familiar metaphors used to describe the Scriptures is found in Psalm 119:105 which speaks of God’s Word as a lamp. This particular verse was among the first scripture memory songs that I ever composed with the following lyrics:

God’s Word is a lamp, a lamp unto my feet.

God’s Word is a lamp, a lamp unto my feet

God’s Word is a lamp, a lamp unto my feet

And a light unto my path.

 

When I am in the dark

And cannot find my way,

I open up the Bible

To see what God will say.

I look and find the answer

And then I gladly obey.

 

God’s Word is a lamp, a lamp unto my feet

God’s Word is a lamp, a lamp unto my feet

God’s Word is a lamp, a lamp unto my feet

And a light unto my path.

 

When you have a problem,

And you don’t know what to do,

Just open up the Bible

See what God says to you.

Just look and find the answer.

Ask yourself, “What would Jesus do?”

 

God’s Word is a lamp, a lamp unto my feet.

God’s Word is a lamp, a lamp unto my feet

God’s Word is a lamp, a lamp unto my feet

And a light unto my path.

Psalm 119:105 is the inspiration for this beautiful worship composition “Lamp unto My Feet” by Hillsong

Michael W. Smith and Amy Grant also offer another song: “Thy Word is a Lamp unto My feet.”

 

 

Tags: ,

Leave a Reply

