Joshua 24:15: Whom will you worship?

Joshua 24v15

The Verse of the Day for November 8, 2013 is taken from Joshua 24:15. In this case, I found that Holman Christian Standard Bible offers another rendering that is especially meaningful:

But if it doesn’t please you to worship Yahweh, choose for yourselves today the one you will worship: the gods your fathers worshiped beyond the Euphrates River or the gods of the Amorites in whose land you are living. As for me and my family, we will worship Yahweh.”

The King James Version of Joshua 24:15 asks questions as to whom the Children of Israel will serve. In actuality, Joshua is asking whom will they worship, for to serve is to worship, and to worship is to serve. Recently my Verse of the Day blog entry focused on Romans 12:1, which speaks of offering our bodies as “a living sacrifice,” which is our reasonable service, or as the Amplified Bible puts it: “which is your reasonable (rational, intelligent) service and spiritual worship.” Indeed, service = worship.

I made the following comment which also has application to today’s Verse of the Day:

“Another expression of worship involves doing or serving, as we follow God’s command and make a sacrifice to do His will, to serve Him alone.”

I recall a popular song from the seventies in which the inimitable Bob Dylan made a profound statement that “You got to serve somebody . . . it may be the Devil, it may be the Lord, but you got to serve somebody.” Just as the question was raised by Joshua when he confronted the Israelites, as they prepared to enter the Promised Land, so the question is raised to believers today, “Whom are you going to serve or worship this day?” Like Joshua we also need to be resolute in our bold response, “As for me and my house, we will serve the Lord.”

That commitment is powerfully expressed in this video by John Waller: “As for Me and My House:”

Tags: , , , , , ,

2 Responses to “Joshua 24:15: Whom will you worship?”

  1. Lucky Langa Says:

    “ As for me and my house ” refers to my total being , ie with my heart , my soul , my mind , I will adhere to the Lords instructions all the times and everywhere.

    • Dr. J Says:

      Thanks so much for sharing this rendering. That is a powerful expression of the truth of God’s Word. As they say, “That will preach!” and I intend to proclaim it. God bless.

Leave a Reply

