Psalm 62:7 and Psalm 62:1: Reminder to quietly wait

The Verse of the Day for March 27, 2014 is found in Psalm 62:7 in the King James Version:

In God is my salvation and my glory: the rock of my strength, and my refuge, is in God.

Verse 7 actually reiterates the message of verse 7 of Psalm 62:1:

Truly my soul waiteth upon God: from him cometh my salvation.

Listen to Aaron Keyes who offers a wonderful musical rendition of Psalm 62:

Psalm 62:1 was the Verse of the Day for October 13, 2013, and the blog entry for that day is re-posted here:

The Verse of the Day for October 11, 2013 is taken from Psalm 62:1 in the King James Version:

Psalm_62-1

Three other versions of the Bible provide additional insight into Psalm 62:1

Amplified Bible:

For God alone my soul waits in silence; from Him comes my salvation.

New King James Version:

Truly my soul silently waits for God;
From Him comes my salvation.

New Living Translation:

 I wait quietly before God, for my victory comes from him.

Holman Christian Standard Bible:

I am at rest in God alone; my salvation comes from Him.

These various versions of the Verse of the Day remind us that we are not just waiting, but we are waiting silently, quietly in a state of rest.

The lyrics from the hymn “Open My Eyes,” written and composed by Clara H. Scott, reiterate our being quiet as we wait:

Quietly now I wait for Thee,

Ready my God Thy will to see,

Open my eyes illumine me…

The lyrics to the hymn are displayed while Nathanael Provis plays the melody on piano, a perfect musical illustration of Psalm 62:1

A contemporary worship song with the same title “Open My Eyes” is offered by Hillsong with these lyrics which serve as a bridge in the song:

And as I wait on You my God
I’ll know the voice of truth
In quietness I am in awe
And as I worship You my Lord
I understand the cross
The sacrifice of God

As we wait on the Lord, we are not in a state of apprehension or anxiety, but we are in a state of “blessed assurance,” as the lyrics to one of the most popular hymns of all time remind us:

Blessed assurance, Jesus is mine!
O what a foretaste of glory divine!
Heir of salvation, purchase of God,
Born of His Spirit, washed in His blood.

Refrain:
This is my story, this is my song,
Praising my Saviour all the day long;
This is my story, this is my song,
Praising my Saviour all the day long.

Perfect submission, perfect delight,
Visions of rapture now burst on my sight;
Angels descending, bring from above
Echoes of mercy, whispers of love.

Perfect submission, all is at rest,
I in my Saviour am happy and blest;
Watching and waiting, looking above,
Filled with His goodness, lost in His love.

This most moving rendition of the classic is offered acapella by The Isaacs:

I conclude this blog entry with a poem inspired, in part, by a reference to waiting on the Lord:

    I Wait for You—I Wait on You

Waiting on the Lord is all about expectancy and faith,

knowing He longs to meet with us more   

than we could ever even imagine wanting

to meet with Him.

                  Mark Kaphaem

 

I am restless, breathless, as I anticipate

The unspeakable pleasure of our rendezvous.

The bridal chamber is prepared, and now I wait

Until you arrive and tell me what I must do.

While I wait for you to enter the secret place

My passions arise, as incense burns in a bowl.

Beyond the veil I shall know you face to face

And consummate desires aflame within my soul.

I wait for you—I wait on you, to do your will

Until the day when I shall know as I am known,

When at last this yearning for more you fulfill,

As the splendor of your glory is fully shown

When I shall know the love of God without measure

And ever dwell in the house of your good pleasure.

 

Meditating on Psalm 62:1, the Verse of the Day, is great way to start the day, as we watch and wait.

Tags: , , , , , , , , ,

Leave a Reply

