Psalm 63: Two songs inspired by the psalm

Early this morning, October 7, 2013, I just happened to start my day looking at the lyrics to some of the songs that composed fourteen years ago when I was first inspired to compile a collection of songs, many of which were based on various passages from the Bible. One of the first of such songs was inspired by Psalm 63. Most providentially, the Verse of the Day for October 7, 2013 is Psalm 63:1 in the King James Version:

Psalm_63-1

O God, thou art my God; early will I seek thee: my soul thirsteth for thee, my flesh longeth for thee in a dry and thirsty land, where no water is;

Here is the song based on that psalm:

O Lord, You Are My God

(from Psalm 63)

 

O Lord, you are my God,

Early in the morning will I seek you,

Before the rising of the sun.

You are the God of all creation,

Faithful and true, the Holy One.

 

My soul thirsts for you alone,

My flesh longs for you.

In a dry and thirsty land,

Only you can satisfy the deepest longing of my soul.

 

My soul follows hard after you.

Your righteous right hand always upholds me.

I long to follow your command.

 

My soul thirsts for you alone,

My flesh longs for you.

In a dry and thirsty land,

Only you can satisfy the deepest longing of my soul.

Only you can satisfy the deepest longing of my soul.

 

Not only is Psalm 63 the inspiration for that song that I composed, it is also the basis for “My Soul Follows Hard after Thee” performed as a medley with “I’m Gonna Love You,” two classic praise and worship compositions of Don Moen of Hosanna! Music.

I begin this beautiful day, a magnificent Monday, by reading Psalm 63 and reading lyrics based on that passage and listening to another song inspired by this Psalm of David.

 

 

 

 

Tags: , , ,

Leave a Reply

