There is no pit so deep. . .

There is no pit so deep

At times in life, we may feel like we are sinking into a horrible pit, as we become bogged down in a quagmire of despair and hopelessness. No matter how hard we try to carry out the will of God, many times we seem to be slipping and sinking further into the pits of life.

Jeremiah 38:1-28 gives the account of the prophet Jeremiah who because of his prophetic word for Judah was thrown into a pit. We must remember, however, that God sent someone to rescue Jeremiah, who was literally thrown into a slimy pit, but he was rescued by Ebed-Melech, an Ethiopian, whose name literally means “servant of the king,” who served as  an official in the court of Zedekiah, king of Judah, during the time when Jerusalem was under siege by the Babylonians.  I make reference to feeling like Jeremiah in one of my poems when I recall an occasion when I called out to God, and He rescued me:

In A Place Called Gilgal

In a place called Gilgal, here I gather twelve stones

From the pit, like Jeremiah snatched from this place

Of disgrace, grief unspeakable, in a moment

Of time, calling from the depths of despair, waiting.

Midnight and sunrise, may I always remember

And cherish these bittersweet memories in my heart:

I stood naked before Him, waiting to be changed.

In His presence I am revived, and I am changed;

From the pit of despair, taken to a new place.

For I make Jesus Lord and believe in my heart.

I walk with Him in power, moment by moment.

Others may forget, but I choose to remember

The promises fulfilled after long years of waiting.

 

I express similar feeling in the lyrics to another original song:

Like Jeremiah, from the depths of the pit,

You brought me out of the miry clay.

My feet had almost slipped, but you set me on solid rock to stay.

You put a new song in mouth,

Even praise to our God.

Many shall see and hear

And shall fear the name of our God.

Many shall turn their hearts to the Lord on that day.

You brought me up.

You pulled me out.

You put a new song in my mouth.

You brought me up.

You pulled me out.

And I will praise You.  And I will bless you.

And I will glorify Your name.

I will raise my voice in praise all of my days.

A couple of days ago, I read a commentary regarding Corrie ten Boom and her sister Betsy, who were imprisoned in Nazi concentration camps because they helped Jews to escape in Holland. They found themselves in a horrible situation, in a deep pit, and Betsy’s last words before she died spoke of hope, even in a most difficult situation. Corrie ten Boom, was later rescued and gave her testimony of the amazing power of God’s love that sustained her over the years of her life. Betsy said these words which became the opening line and the title of the following poem:

“There is no pit so deep. . . ”

“There is no pit so deep that He is not deeper still.”

 Betsy ten Boom

 

He also brought me up out of a horrible pit,
Out of the miry clay, and set my feet upon a rock,
and established my steps.

 Psalm 40:2                           

“There is no pit so deep that He is not deeper still.”

In times of turmoil and deep distress we rest until

We see that God’s Word comes to pass, for we have no doubt

That He will again deliver us and bring us out

With renewed strength to climb an even steeper hill.

We are assured that every promise God will fulfill.

When we are exhausted, God will refresh and refill.

No matter how severe the problem we thought about,

“There is no pit so deep. . .”

Despite our best efforts, at times life goes all downhill.

In times of despair we seek courage and strength to instill,

As we persevere to triumph along this treacherous route.

Rooted and grounded, we are no longer tossed about.

We remember these words as we strive to fulfill God’s will:

“There is no pit so deep. . .”

As I was growing up, I recall the song “He Brought Me Out” performed here as a congregational hymn from the Church of God.

I would like to close this blog entry with my personal testimony expressed poetically which touches upon a similar theme of being lifted out of a horrible situation:

Why Don’t Somebody Help Me Praise the Lord?

            Psalm 107

When I was down so low

it looked like up to me,

You broke those heavy chains

and gave me sweet liberty.

Why Don’t Somebody Help Me Praise the Lord?

 

When I was so big and bad,

tryin to be my own man,

You opened my blinded eyes

and then showed me Your master plan.

Why Don’t Somebody Help Me Praise the Lord?

I was headin straight to hell,

And I was goin in grand style

But you picked me up, turnt me round,

And you caused me to think awhile.

Why Don’t Somebody Help Me Praise the Lord?

Stumblin down the road of life,

I was wastin all my youth,

Then took a right turn to Jesus Christ;

Now I’m walkin the path of truth.

Why Don’t Somebody Help Me Praise the Lord?

You couldn’t tell me nothin

bout nothin I hadn’t seen or heard,

Then I ran right smackdab into

the power of God’s matchless Word.

Why Don’t Somebody Help Me Praise the Lord?

 

With lovin arms you reach way down

And snatched me from Satan’s outhouse,

Sought me and flat-out rescued me,

Fixed me up in my Father’s house.

Why Don’t Somebody Help Me Praise the Lord?

For mighty peace like a river

washin away confusion and strife,

What can I give you in return?

Yes, Sir, I’ll give you back my life.

Why Don’t Somebody Help Me Praise the Lord?

In recalling this particular poem, I also think of one of the most beloved hymns of all times “Love Lifted Me” with its most memorable opening stanza and chorus:

I was sinking deep in sin, far from the peaceful shore,
Very deeply stained within, sinking to rise no more,
But the Master of the sea, heard my despairing cry,
From the waters lifted me, now safe am I.

Love lifted me! Love lifted me!
When nothing else could help
Love lifted me!

This version of the classic hymn performed by Bill and Gloria Gaither, featuring Kim Hooper, is a most appropriate way to close this blog entry.

Tags: , , , , , , ,

Leave a Reply

