Isaiah 12:4 brings to mind Four for Twelve on 4-4-12

Isaiah 12--4a

In January, 2012, I posted a blog in Dr. J’s Apothecary Shoppe based on my theme and scriptural focal point for that year. In this case, I had selected Isaiah 62, a passage that most providentially contained twelve verses. In studying the chapter, I decided to write a series of poems, as I personalized each of the twelve verses, calling the collection “Twelve for Twelve for 2012.”

The Verse of the Day for July 5, 2014 is taken from Isaiah 12:4:

And in that day shall ye say, Praise the Lord, call upon his name, declare his doings among the people, make mention that his name is exalted.

The verse from Isaiah brought to mind the fourth installment “Four for Twelve,” one of a series of poems based on a personalized poetic rendering of Isaiah 62:4, which was posted on April 4, 2012. I am re-blogging that entry which opens with Isaiah 62:4 in the New Living Testament:

Isaiah 62 with its 12 verses comprises the theme for the New Year: “Twelve for Twelve in 2012.”

Isaiah 62 with its 12 verses comprises the theme for the New Year: “Twelve for Twelve in 2012.”

Never again will you be called “The Forsaken City”
or “The Desolate Land.”
Your new name will be “The City of God’s Delight”
and “The Bride of God,”
for the Lord delights in you
and will claim you as his bride.

Four for Twelve

Isaiah 62:4

Never again to be called “The Forsaken   City”

Nor will they say that you are “The Desolate Land,”

But God smiles and says, “You show are pretty,

And He will uphold you with His righteous right hand.”

Your new name will be “The City of God’s Delight”

You shall be called the “The Bride of God,” just as He said.

He promised to love you and always do you right.

He takes your sorrow and turns it to joy instead.

He keeps on telling you the Lord delights in you;

He will not leave you but will always walk by your side.

You can count on Him, for He said He will be true:

The Lord redeemed you and will claim you as his bride.

In reflecting on Isaiah 62:4 and the poem inspired by that verse, I thought of other poetry and music related to the bride. “Enoch’s Song,” a poetic expression of my heart’s desire, makes reference to “the bride”:

 Enoch’s Song

By faith Enoch was taken away so that he should not see death;

“and was not found, because God had taken him”,

 for before he was taken he had this testimony,

that he pleased God.

Hebrews 11:5

My heart’s song is to so sing like Enoch,

With all that lies within me, with each breath,

That I too may walk with God and please Him,

That one day when they seek me, I shall not

Be found, for I will have been gathered, caught

Up to meet the Lord in the clouds forever,

Never to taste the bitter root of death

But savor the sweetness of His favor.

That to do His will was my sole desire–

May I leave behind this testimony

Written on the pages of pure a heart

Prepared for the marriage ceremony,

Blameless in His presence with nothing to hide,

So transformed and fashioned to be the bride.

Each time we attend a wedding or see a marriage ceremony in a movie or in some other media, or look at a wedding album, we see with our eyes reflections of the highest expression of unity, whereby Ephesians 5:31   is displayed:

For this cause shall a man leave his father and mother, and shall be joined unto his wife, and they two shall be one flesh.

This photo from the wedding ceremony of my sister, Cheryl, a widow, who experienced the reality of God’s provision of “another chance” when she met, Thomas, a widower, as they both were serving in ministry at their church.

Cheryl and Thomas Williams, radiant display of God’s love for the bride and groom.

Here is another poem that makes reference to “the bride.”

At My Own Well

“Every man of significance [in the Bible]

found his bride at a well.”

    Apostle Lyrica Smith

As I pass through this parched landscape, this barren place,

Transform my Valley of Baca into a well

Where I can rest and be refreshed for the journey.

As I draw from these rivers of living waters,

Flood my soul with your very presence, sustain me,

For you never fail to feed all those who trust you.

You alone can satisfy this thirsting for more,

“More love and more power, more of you in my life.”

“Spring up, O well, within my soul. Spring up, O well.”

I abide in hope, that I may be found worthy

To stand blameless before you with nothing to hide,

Persevering in peace, without spot or wrinkle,

Adorned in splendor, glorified to be the bride,

Watching, waiting for the bridegroom at my own well.

The music video “Wedding Day—Christ and His Bride” by the Rochesters offers a glimpse of the ultimate expression of the fulfillment of God’s promise that the Bridegroom will return for his bride:

Tags: , , , , , , , , , , ,

Leave a Reply

